Click for full size
Planted a Roma, Beefsteak, and Yellow Jubilee tomato in 3 cans
Click for full size
Got some nasty fish sauce smelling plant food
Click for full size
4 tablespoons per can
Click for full size
Filled with water to mix in plant food and to settle the soil
The water took about 5 minutes to drain down. Last night we got a light frost and so I took your advice and covered them with 36 gallon trash bags. Worked perfect. This morning they looked great when I pulled the bags off.

This is my first time doing them this way. We'll see how it goes. I also pruned the plants to remove branches that didn't have any flowers on them. Wish me luck.
Moffetts
join:2005-05-09
San Mateo, CA

Moffetts

Fish emulsion is worth the horrid smell.

stev32k
Premium Member
join:2000-04-27
Mobile, AL

1 edit

stev32k to Sly

Premium Member

to Sly
said by Sly:

The water took about 5 minutes to drain down. Last night we got a light frost and so I took your advice and covered them with 36 gallon trash bags. Worked perfect. This morning they looked great when I pulled the bags off.

This is my first time doing them this way. We'll see how it goes. I also pruned the plants to remove branches that didn't have any flowers on them. Wish me luck.

I know you will have more tomatoes than you know what to do with. I end up giving more away than I eat. Some years the neighbors would pretend they were not home when I came with another bag of tomatoes .

Probably the most critical part of growing them in containers is water. The soil temperature in the can will get pretty warm and that stimulates growth and also makes the plants take up more water than if they were planted in a regular garden. The roots cannot spread out like they would in the ground so the only water they have is what you add.