Search similar:

uniqs
jrmorfin5
join:2004-04-14
Ogden, UT

1 edit

jrmorfin5

[Connectivity] Faster with gigabit ethernet card

A weird observation, it seems my speed is faster with a gigabit NIC's versus 10/100 NIC's. Anyone else observe this behaviour? I am on the 50meg tier with a SBG6580 Modem

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er

its the overhead....not to mention the better chipset in the gigabit card....its nothing weird...most people wont notice a difference unless they are doing transfers on their LAN, but since you have a 50meg plan, you would notice a difference...

telcodad
MVM
join:2011-09-16
Lincroft, NJ

telcodad to jrmorfin5

MVM

to jrmorfin5
There was a thread about a month ago that discussed the use of Gigabit Ethernet NICs vs. the older and more common 10/100 Mb ones: »What is the point of high Internet speeds if....

Mike Wolf
join:2009-05-24
Tuckerton, NJ

Mike Wolf to jrmorfin5

to jrmorfin5
Yeah I've noticed this for years, which is why my entire network is gigabit now and why I only buy and recommend gigabit equipped routers. It's like when I'm uploading and downloading massive amounts of data I've noticed the network utilization percentage found in the windows task manager hovering between 80 and 90% with a 10/100 link speed but when I'm running at gigabit link speed I see only 8%. Anyway I really think the network performance your seeing is because it is taking stress off the processor somehow. I did some testing on a 120Mbps download and upload network at a college using Internet2 earlier today switching back and forth between the two settings and also had noticed the CPU usage being much lower when on the gigabit setting compared to the 10/100 setting.
Expand your moderator at work
JPnATL
join:2011-11-16
Bethlehem, GA

JPnATL to jrmorfin5

to jrmorfin5

Re: [Connectivity] Faster with gigabit ethernet card