uniqs
share rss forum feed

pianotech
Pianotech
Premium
join:2002-12-30
New Castle, PA

The wait is killing me

Is there anything that requires more patience than waiting for your call sign to show up in the ULS? I'm trying to hang in there, but it's driving me nuts.

Passed the test on Saturday 4/7, and the VE's said I would probably show up on Wednesday or Thursday, but as of Friday morning I'm still not there.

How long did it take for some of you? I'm a new license (Technician), not an upgrade (though I started studying for my General). I wonder, does the ULS database update several times a day, or only once?
--
New to ham radio - advice from Elmers appreciated!

alphapointe
Don't Touch Me
Premium,MVM
join:2002-02-10
Columbia, MO
kudos:2
Back when I got my ticket, I had to wait for it in the mail, and it took almost a month...

pianotech
Pianotech
Premium
New Castle, PA
Agh! That must have killed you. The VEs were up in years, and they were telling me how "back in the day" they had to wait 5-6 months.
--

n2jtx

join:2001-01-13
Glen Head, NY
reply to alphapointe
said by alphapointe:

Back when I got my ticket, I had to wait for it in the mail, and it took almost a month...

Same here. Back in 1989 I passed July 8th and didn't get my license until August 12. About a year or two later, after the no-code tech was created it was taking two to three months to get a license from the FCC. Without that paper, you could not transmit. At least with ULS, you can now get on the air as soon as you see the record.
--
I support the right to keep and arm bears.

pianotech
Pianotech
Premium
New Castle, PA
Well of course you guys are right....patience.

equalize

join:2009-10-22
Chicago, IL
reply to pianotech
Tech license less than a week. General & Extra about 2.5 weeks.

pianotech
Pianotech
Premium
New Castle, PA
said by equalize:

Tech license less than a week. General & Extra about 2.5 weeks.