ctggzg
Premium Member
join:2005-02-11
USA

ctggzg

Premium Member

Running Cat 5 from attic to downstairs outlet

Click for full size
See my crude drawing of our two-story house. We have coax running from the attic down to Room A downstairs. From there, another piece of coax runs back up to the first floor ceiling, over a doorway, and down to an outlet in Room B, where the exterior wall seems to be inaccessible from the attic.

I'd like to follow the coax with Cat 5. The drop from the attic to Room A is relatively simple. The problem is turning two corners to get from A to B. I thought about using the existing coax to pull a string back, but the coax seems to be stapled to something up high where I can't reach it.

Any thoughts on how to do this without tearing up the wall? I spent two summers wiring commercial properties with Cat 5, so I have some experience with fish tape, pull string, and such. However, those were mostly straight shots with access to crawl spaces. I'm also aware of other solutions such as Ethernet over electrical or coax, but I already have a 100-foot Cat 5 cable sitting in the attic and two dual coax/Ethernet wall plates and don't want to spend more money.

alkizmo
join:2007-06-25
Pierrefonds, QC

alkizmo

So you don't know what's the path taken by the coax between Room A and Room B? For all you know, it could make quite a few detours, and not just be a straight line.

Since you managed to run the CAT5 to Room A, it means you know the path it takes from the attic.

Why not try to run another Cat5 from the attic directly to room b?

The only way to bring Cat5 to Room A and B would be to run TWO cat5 cables anyway.

Or, what I did is run my network cables from the basement ceiling up into the rooms above.
ctggzg
Premium Member
USA

ctggzg

Premium Member