share rss forum feed

Moropo
Premium
join:2002-07-28
Reviews:
·AT&T Southeast
·America Online

which type of modem is needed?

My dad is currently paying $7 for the rental modem and wants to buy a modem to stop paying the monthly fee etc.

He currently has some very slow speeds like around 1.5 mb download or something but since he recently put netflix he is planning to upgrade his speed to around 10mb, or whatever comcast has closest to that.

First of all: is a Docsis 3 needed for 10-20 mb speeds? If yes, could you please recommend a cheap one (in price)? If no, even though its not needed, do you still think he should get it docsis 3 to future-proof?

Thanks.
--
B.S. and M.S. in Math
will begin my PhD in Math at University of Miami on Fall 2012

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

no a d3 modem isnt needed.....helpful, but not needed....it can help ease congestion and stabilize your connection...

dont know what you think cheap to be, but $70 for a zoom d3 modem..
seeing as a older surfboard is $55 i think its a good deal...

»www.amazon.com/Zoom-DOCSIS-Cable···_title_3
--
I'm better than you!

Mike Wolf

join:2009-05-24
Beachwood, NJ
kudos:3

1 recommendation

Just be careful because a non D3 modem most likely wont support IPv6 which that in and of itself is an improvement towards futureproofness.

Ripper
Premium
join:2002-02-07
West Palm Beach, FL
reply to Moropo

Sounds like he has the economy level, here is the Comcast approved modem list »mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/ any modem on it should work fine.

jack b
Gone Fishing
Premium,MVM
join:2000-09-08
Cape Cod
kudos:1
reply to Moropo

If you have Comcast digital voice service you'll need to buy an emta to avoid the $7 modem lease charge. If it's only internet service, than practically any D3 modem on the list will do the job.
--
~Help Find a Cure for Cancer~
~Proud Member of Team Discovery ~

PeteC2
Got Mouse?
Premium,MVM
join:2002-01-20
Bristol, CT
kudos:6
Reviews:
·Comcast