Search similar:

uniqs

bbrkdub
join:2001-10-03
San Antonio, TX

bbrkdub

Taking over VP Tunnel environment

Hi all,

I have a new client that has a networking issue between the main office and a remote site. Recently, the Juniper router at the remote site went down and hasn't properly come back up. Therefore, a replacement Netgear box has been purchased and installed in the meantime.

However, the Juniper router had a VP Tunnel which connected the two facilities. So, although the client can browse the Internet, they cannot access Windows shares and printers from the main office.

I'm inheriting their network environment. Both the client and I have very little knowledge of this environment, but we need to fix this "VP Tunnel" as they call it.

I'm a novice with VPN; I know of it, but never had to set it up or fix it. So, first question, a "VP Tunnel" is really just a VPN Tunnel, correct? If so, it sounds like this client has a site-to-site VPN Tunnel?

bdnhsv
join:2012-01-20
Huntsville, AL

bdnhsv

It does sound like they had a VPN between the sites. As for how they came to call it a VP tunnel, who knows? I'd suggest going to the other site and checking out the setup there to see how they had it implemented. Then you can decide if you want to continue with that setup or change both sites to a different config.

bbrkdub
San Antonio, TX

bbrkdub

I'm planning to visit the clients' sites tomorrow afternoon, so I'll have a better idea of their exact network config, and access to the equipment, including the failed Juniper router. Once I retrieve this information, I'll post it back here for follow-up advice. Thanks!
HarryH3
Premium Member
join:2005-02-21

HarryH3

Premium Member

If you're lucky the Netgear has the ability to connect via VPN to the router at the main site. You'll need to know the public IP of the router at the main site, the range of IP addresses at the main site that should be available to users at the remote site, and the tunnel password.