Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

RubberDucky

@cox.net

[GA] Modem Is Shutting Down and Rebooting

Click for full size
Click for full size

Hello, I am a pretty tech savvy individual and a server admin in the Air Force. So I am stuck living in the dorms on base and using Cox HSI. Up till now it has been pretty sweet speed-wise(I have the 20mbps package), but I am suddenly getting some major issues. Modems are definitely far from my specialty.

I first Really started to notice the issues at the release of Diablo 3. I am getting some major lag often followed by complete disconnects where the modem reboots. So I started troubleshooting. Unplugged/plugged modem, did factory reset of modem, clean virus scans, bypassed router and plugged PC directly into the modem, called Cox.

So to avoid a possibly costly service call I bought new modem, same model, swapped it, connected it to my account, same exact issues as before. Same modem logs too. The logs are below along with all the info I usually see requested on help sites for this stuff. Also: I just did a speed test that shows far slower speeds than I used to get...

Irish Shark
Play Like A Champion Today
Premium,MVM
join:2000-07-29
Las Vegas, NV
kudos:4

• What MODEM is it? A MOTO?

• What did Cox say?

They can run a line check to see if there are any issues along the way. Cox can also monitor your line to see if something is causing this on a sporadic basis.

Just because you swaped the MODEM, you used the same make and model. So, you cannot rule out the MODEM as the problem.

If I had to guess, looking at what you posted, it looks like an upstream SNR issue. Cox can see this at the CMTS.
--
"You can observe a lot by watching". Yogi Berra

RubberDucky

@cox.net

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size