sleuth3
Premium Member
join:2001-08-30
West Des Moines, IA

sleuth3

Premium Member

[Beginner] Which Apple Mac to get?

Hey guys,

Would love some suggestions outside those blue shirt salesman at the Apple store.

I'm deciding between the Mac Mini, Macbook and iMac. I received a Macbook for free from my cousin a few years back and I love it. I was a loyal PC builder and user prior, but this thing is so user friendly. No viruses really, easy to maintain, no blue screen of death, and so little maintenance required. That being said, I think I'm prepared to make my first purchase. Which one tho!?

I used to be an avid gamer, but I find myself with less time these days. I have a 9 month old, I'm in 2 golf leagues, and play golf 4x per week regularly. Weekends are spent with my wife and kid at the zoo or other summer festivities. Alas, my wife decided to buy me D3 because I would always talk about it. Like oh my god, it's finally coming out! I played D2 religiously.

That being said, which would you all recommend for a regular user? I will not being doing anything heavy other than D2. I don't do graphics design, and I don't run Adobo Photoshop software (but this may be in my future with all the pics I have been taking of my child). What I do use is the MS Office Suite, email and web - again regular user stuff. I am looking to take programming classes in the future to enhance my current skills (.Net, SAS/SQL) - will Mac be okay for that?

I love the screen on the iMac. That thing is crisp and clean. Mac Mini has my attention due to the price point. I have a decent 21" widescreen Acer monitor I could hook that up to.

I like transporting my Macbook, but I find myself using it more and more at my desk. My kid loves to slap stuff. Smash smash smash! So I no longer take it with me around the house.

Suggestions/opinions please. Thanks.

bobrk
You kids get offa my lawn
Premium Member
join:2000-02-02
San Jose, CA

bobrk

Premium Member