dslreports logo
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
97147
share rss forum feed


NetFixer
Bah Humbug
Premium
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
reply to s4v8

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

said by s4v8:

Motorola NVG589

Seriously?

s4v8

join:2005-04-28
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Brighton, MA
Motorola NVG589


ctgreybeard
Old dogs can learn new tricks
Premium
join:2001-11-13
Bethel, CT
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 edit

1 recommendation

reply to NetDog
I seem to have lost my IPV6 address sometime yesterday. Modem uptime is now 155 days and counting so no restart but the modem is no longer seeing an IPV6 address.

Edit: And it's back!
--
Old dogs can learn new tricks!

corgi11

join:2013-09-30
reply to NetDog
Hi Netdog:

I recently had a Cisco DPC 3939 installed and was wondering if there was any news about the non IPv6 issue any info would be greatly appreciated. I absolutely love the device and the signal strength is fantastic.


camper
Premium
join:2010-03-21
Bethel, CT
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 recommendation

reply to bgoodbody
said by bgoodbody:

I don't understand the difference between the test IPv6 Address and the WAN address. Would expect them to be the same

 
I attempted to answer this question here:
»[IPv6] IP addresses with IPv6

bgoodbody
Bill G

join:2002-05-08
North Truro, MA
reply to NetDog

TG 862 Xfinity page
Click for full size
Test Web Results
1) North Truro MA
2) Using TG862 eMTA

I don't understand the difference between the test IPv6 Address and the WAN address. Would expect them to be the same
--
- Bill
Expand your moderator at work


train_wreck

join:2013-10-04
Antioch, TN
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size

comcast business class using dynamic IPs through an SB6141, outside Nashville, TN. through a router PC running Arch Linux, kernel 3.13.6.
Expand your moderator at work

rscalzo

join:2006-07-07
Epping, NH
reply to Anon

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Just notified of a modem upgrade. Now I have IVp6.

»stage.results.speedtest.comcast. ··· 6864.png
Expand your moderator at work


Kittyfuzz

join:2002-06-04
Carnegie, PA
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size
1. Carnegie, PA.
2. Arris Gateway
Expand your moderator at work


Desii

join:2014-02-25
Yuba City, CA
kudos:1
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size
A little late to the party, since Comcast added IPV6 support here in 2012.
1) Yuba City, CA
2)ASUS N66R, Motorola Surfboard SB6141, Windows 7.
Expand your moderator at work


camper
Premium
join:2010-03-21
Bethel, CT
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size

# dehstat.sh

IPv4 DHCP status

Address: 50.187.nnn.nnn
Router: 50.187.nnn.1
Lease start time: Thu 2014-04-03 11:55:35
Lease renew time: Fri 2014-04-04 23:19:56 (127461 sec.)
Lease expire time: Sun 2014-04-06 10:44:18 (254923 sec.)
 

IPv6 DHCP status

Address: 2001:558:6017:nnnn:nnnn:nnnn:nnnn:nnnn/64
Lease start time: Thu 2014-04-03 11:52:13
Lease renew time: Sat 2014-04-05 11:31:56 (171583 sec.)
Lease expire time: Mon 2014-04-07 11:11:40 (343167 sec.)

Prefix Delegation: 2601:6:nnnn:nnnn::/64
Lease start time: Thu 2014-04-03 11:52:13
Lease renew time: Sat 2014-04-05 11:31:56 (171583 sec.)
Lease expire time: Mon 2014-04-07 11:11:40 (343167 sec.)


Location: Bethel, CT
Router: FreeBSD 10.0

plat2on1

join:2002-08-21
Hopewell Junction, NY
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
turned on sometime last night


espressoman

join:2001-08-10
Arlington, MA
reply to NetDog
Noticed my ASUS RT-N66U picked up a IPv6 address this week in North Branford, CT (Branford, CT system). Looks like I'm part of the future now! Everything checked out on the readiness page.

Jp1026

join:2014-03-28

1 recommendation

reply to aefstoggaflm
Thanks! After it came back up, I still have an IPv4 address, no change.


aefstoggaflm
Open Source Fan
Premium
join:2002-03-04
Bethlehem, PA
kudos:8
Reviews:
·PenTeleData
·Verizon Online DSL
reply to Jp1026
said by Jp1026:

In CT here. Internet has been down about an hour. Looking at the modem log I am seeing a ton of entries that state: Honoring MDD; IP Provisioning Mode =IPv6. Assuming that we are in the process of being upgraded. The tech support person I talked to said it is a planned outage.

I point to and quote..

#1 »[Internet] Buffalo, NY area CMTS now emitting IPv6 RAs

quote:
EDIT: One thing I had been wondering, and is finally answered: Does ipv6 depend on seeing ipv6 on the Motorola (SB6120) configuration page? No, it does not. "IPv4 Only" mode must mean for managing the modem itself, not what's attached to it.

#2 »Re: [Internet] IPv6 just appeared on my connection

quote:
The modem IP mode listed is for the management of the modem, not the end user IP.

#3 »[IPv6] Modem's IP Mode: IPv6 Only

quote:
The Modem IP Mode on the web interface only refers to the management side of the modem, but it means your CMTS is IPv6-enabled, so you are likely dual stack.

#4 »[IPv6] I'm a bit confused about IP6 and it's relation to me ....

quote:
Your cable modem has an additional IPv6 management interface address, that's all. It has no meaning to you or your network. Just ignore it.

If you want to use IPv6 as well as IPv4 on your network, that's another story. You will need to be in an area that has IPv6 service, and you will need an IPv6 compatible modem, router, and operating system on your PC.

ETC..
--
Please use the "yellow (IM) envelope" to contact me and please leave the URL intact.

Jp1026

join:2014-03-28
reply to NetDog
In CT here. Internet has been down about an hour. Looking at the modem log I am seeing a ton of entries that state: Honoring MDD; IP Provisioning Mode =IPv6. Assuming that we are in the process of being upgraded. The tech support person I talked to said it is a planned outage.

rajiv

join:2014-03-27
Cambridge, MA
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
turned on in cambridge, ma tonight. both internet and tv were out for about 45 minutes. when they came back, my router got an ipv6 address and prefix delegated.

cambridge, ma
motorola SB 6141
tp-link tl-wdr4300 running openwrt

btlalum
Premium
join:2002-05-18
Topsham, ME
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Topsham, ME
Router: Netgear WNR3500lv2


JupiterFL

@comcast.net
reply to YukonHawk
Click for full size
Jupiter, Florida went live today.


YukonHawk

join:2001-01-07
Patterson, NY
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 recommendation

reply to plat2on1
Shoot...That stinks.....Well, we both waited a long time for it to finally show up in our area, so I guess a little longer won't hurt. It's worth the wait. When my modem reset early yesterday morning I thought it was a speed upgrade (wishful thinking but it may have been acquiring the ipv6 address. At least I suspect that was the reason it rebooted.

plat2on1

join:2002-08-21
Hopewell Junction, NY
reply to YukonHawk
said by YukonHawk:

said by plat2on1:

I thought we were on the same CMTS. does comcast6.net say you are ipv6 enabled?

Hey there Plat...Yes, you're correct about the same CMTS. Comcast6.net also gave me this message:

Your IP address is 2601:6:4b00:a4b:cd4e:970d:2015:a995
Congrats! You are using IPv6 on the Comcast Cable network.

Looks like I am good to go. Glad were on Native/Dual Stack IPv6. Now.....Nirvana would be to have our speeds doubled again. Otherwise I am a happy camper!

I guess we aren't on the same CMTS, I still have no IPV6

Your IP address is 76.127.x.x
Your CMTS is not supported at this time.


YukonHawk

join:2001-01-07
Patterson, NY
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 recommendation

reply to plat2on1
said by plat2on1:

I thought we were on the same CMTS. does comcast6.net say you are ipv6 enabled?

Hey there Plat...Yes, you're correct about the same CMTS. Comcast6.net also gave me this message:

Your IP address is 2601:6:4b00:a4b:cd4e:970d:2015:a995
Congrats! You are using IPv6 on the Comcast Cable network.

Looks like I am good to go. Glad were on Native/Dual Stack IPv6. Now.....Nirvana would be to have our speeds doubled again. Otherwise I am a happy camper!

plat2on1

join:2002-08-21
Hopewell Junction, NY
reply to YukonHawk
said by YukonHawk:

Patterson NY
Apple Extreme 5th Gen.
Set to IPv6 Mode "Router"
Config IpV6 Automatic
Modem Cisco DPC3008

I went to another site(forgot which one) and it said that "your browser appears to have an IPv6 address but is avoiding to use it and that bother us"

I am running Firefox v.28 and I checked the "about.config" settings for IPV6 and the value is set as false which it should be. Anyway, just glad to get rid the HE tunnel and have what appears to native IPV6. Thanks Netdog for your hardwork.

I thought we were on the same CMTS. does comcast6.net say you are ipv6 enabled?