dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
96541
share rss forum feed view:
watch


Streetlight

join:2005-11-07
Colorado Springs, CO

1 edit

1 recommendation

reply to andyross

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size
Click for full size
andyross,

Ya, I knew that there were only a max of 4 channels each for up and down. I don't have a particularly fast connection 'cause I don't need it. My wife and I are empty nesters and don't do a lot of simultaneous video streaming. Note the figure showing 8 downstream channels with 4 blank. I presume the 5341H is hardware limited to 4 down channels. We did pick up one upstream channel with the new firmware which seems to have raised upstream speeds by about 10%, otherwise not much increase in performance. Not sure what else the update did. Zoom's website isn't too helpful there.

I managed to get "true" IPv6 back as can be seen by the figure. Xfinity speed test shows both IPv4 and IPv6 results as does linking to Google's sites. Another thread suggested for Netgear routers one might need to disable IPv6 on the IPv6 page and reboot. That's what I did: disable IpV6 in the router, shut every thing down, including modem, router, computers, reboot modem and when sync established, reboot router. I then reset on the router's IPv6 page auto config for IPv6, and it worked. The disabling of IPv6 on the router with the old firmware was not necessary when IPv6 went away usually during a power outage or other acts of god.
--
There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact.

Sherlock Holmes in
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
A. C. Doyle
Strand Magazine, October 1891

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
reply to Streetlight
You have the 5341H, which only supports 4 downstream channels.


Streetlight

join:2005-11-07
Colorado Springs, CO
reply to andyross
said by andyross:

Which version of the 5341? My 5341J has version 5.5.4.9J.

Plain, old 5341 not the J. The box it came in says 5341-02-03H. The case design is kinda' rounded on the edges whereas I think the J model has more sharp, square edges. The Zoom website shows the difference as do the links in Comcast's site about approved modems.

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
reply to Streetlight
Which version of the 5341? My 5341J has version 5.5.4.9J.


Streetlight

join:2005-11-07
Colorado Springs, CO
reply to Anon
A couple of mornings ago at ~1:00 AM Comcast pushed a firmware update for my Zoom 5341 modem from 2...something to 3.1.0.1pre3. Prior to the update I had "pure" IPv6 service but after the update I'm on a 6to4 tunnel. The router (Netgear WNDR 3700) shows that as well as a WAN IPv6 IP address. Rebooted things several times, but no joy. I changed DNS servers from Comcast's 75.75... ones to Google's 8.8.... ones, still no change. I'm at a loss as to how to get my IPv6 back other than getting Comcast to roll back the update. Not sure I want to do that considering a screw up by a CSR may brick the modem! At least the internet works well on IPv4.

One improvement is that Upstream went from 3 channels to 4 channels and upload speeds increased about 10%. The presentation in the status pages is now much more attractive with some additional info, but I'd rather the older Green and Grey pages with IPv6 capability.
--
There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact.

Sherlock Holmes in
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
A. C. Doyle
Strand Magazine, October 1891
Expand your moderator at work


John_Dogg

@comcast.net
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size
Click for full size
Jonesborough, TN 37659
Connected to the Comcast IPV4/IPV6 network via an ARRIS TM822G, and a D-Link DIR-655 router.

Native IPV6 is now enabled in Jonesborough, TN. Pulled this new address a week ago.

cybiko123
Premium
join:2008-12-01
Chicago, IL
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Location: Richmond, VA
Modem: Motorola SB6141
Router: Linksys E4200 on OpenWRT r39210
OS: Debian 7


INTENS1
Never Stop Trying
Premium,MVM
join:2002-04-21
Midwest
kudos:2
reply to INTENS1
It's back now.....that's it for me....speed is great with or without....other things to worry about.
--
Anticipate Nothing...Expect Everything


INTENS1
Never Stop Trying
Premium,MVM
join:2002-04-21
Midwest
kudos:2
reply to NetDog
Not the end of the world....just wondering what may have happened as to where I had it previously but not now.

Springfield IL
--
Anticipate Nothing...Expect Everything

wumarkus

join:2001-11-12
Alexandria, VA
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Alexandria, VA

SB6120 and ZyXEL USG 50 - some misinformation in the other USG threads, the correct settings are (should apply to any USG 3.x firmware):

WAN - SLAAC on, RA off, setup DHCP client and request for delegation, check request address, should show link local and 2001::/128 address as DHCP
LAN - SLAAC off, advanced settings request from prefix, suffix = ::1/64, DHCP off, RA on, advertise suffix = ::0/64, should show link local and 2601::1/64 address as DHCP (even though DHCP is off)

Client was Windows 7 with teredo and 6to4 disabled. Received 2601:: address as expected. The suffixes were messing things up before, if you set it to ::/64 without something in front of the slash, the setting wouldn't save. The zero took care of that problem.

DanM64

join:2013-01-10
Mokena, IL
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Mokena, IL
SBG6580 (on the trial firmware )

Kensey

join:2013-12-26
Harpers Ferry, WV
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Harpers Ferry/Charles Town, WV
Asus RT-N66U (running Merlin firmware 3.0.0.4.374.35_4)
Expand your moderator at work


INTENS1
Never Stop Trying
Premium,MVM
join:2002-04-21
Midwest
kudos:2
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size
Springfield IL
Linksys EA2700

I've had the same setup for years....bought a new computer with Windows 7....nothing else was changed.
--
Anticipate Nothing...Expect Everything

biomesh
Premium
join:2006-07-08
Tomball, TX
reply to NetDog
Location: Tomball, TX (suburb of Houston)
Modem: Motorola SB6141
Router: Mikrotik RB450G ROSv 6.6
OS: Win8
Browser: Chrome Version 32.0.1700.6 dev-m Aura


elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to elkido122


elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to MDA
you can add folsom ca to the list... getting a 2601 address happy camper here


MDA
Auto negotiating
Premium
join:2013-09-10
Minneapolis, MN
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 recommendation

reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Location: Bloomington, MN
Modem + Router: Arris TM722G + D-Link DIR-636L

IPv6 became enabled in my area around the middle of July.

vandergraff2

join:2005-10-17
Los Gatos, CA

1 recommendation

reply to luckmann

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEP

Click for full size
OK I went ahead and tried in Santa Cruz County, CA - seems to be working fine.

SB6121 & ASUS RT-N66U with latest Merlin firmware with IPv6 firewall enabled.

It looks like PC's (Win7), iPad and occasionally iPhone 4S are only local IPv6 clients.

I seem to be getting /64

I ran the firewall test that was recommended in another thread »ipv6.chappell-family.com/ipv6tcp ··· tcptest/

All ports are are green (stealth)

I followed the Comcast recommendations and selected 'Connect to DNS Server automatically' on my router which worked fine. I also tried using OpenDNS IPv6 Sandbox IPs and these seem to work fine as well. Any downside (or upside) to using OpenDNS for IPv6 (I use their DNS servers for IPv4)

Finally ping and speed test seem identical on IPv4 / IPv6

luckmann

join:2004-06-27
Albuquerque, NM
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 edit
reply to NetDog
Finally got IPv6 Enabled here.

Your IP address is 2601:0:780:5e5:bdf1:967d:
Congrats! You are using IPv6 on the Comcast Cable network.
- See more at: »comcast6.net/#sthash.QOHUO7pD.dp ··· 7pD.dpuf

Albuquerque, NM
TM722G connected
Netgear WNDR3700v4


mustang50
Premium
join:2005-05-06
Roseville, MI
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to NetDog
Click for full size
Guess I'll be the first one from MI to report...

Roseville, MI
SB 6141
Belkin 750 db

travelguy

join:1999-09-03
Santa Fe, NM
reply to NetDog
At last!
Expand your moderator at work


tshirt
Premium
join:2004-07-11
Snohomish, WA
kudos:5
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to jjgregory

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEP

jjgregory See Profile a 2002 means you are using a 6 to 4 tunnel rather than a native IPv6 so you aren't quite done.
As you point out That router doesn't have IPv6 support, but I believe openwrt, dd-wrt and shibby all firmwares can help
as always at your own risk
»wiki.openwrt.org/toh/linksys/e30 ··· ys/e3000