dslreports logo
site
 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer




how-to block ads


Search Topic:
uniqs
86450
share rss forum feed view:
watch
prev page · 1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · next


John_Dogg

@comcast.net
reply to NetDog

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEPD)

Click for full size
Click for full size
Jonesborough, TN 37659
Connected to the Comcast IPV4/IPV6 network via an ARRIS TM822G, and a D-Link DIR-655 router.

Native IPV6 is now enabled in Jonesborough, TN. Pulled this new address a week ago.

cybiko123
Premium
join:2008-12-01
Chicago, IL
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Location: Richmond, VA
Modem: Motorola SB6141
Router: Linksys E4200 on OpenWRT r39210
OS: Debian 7


INTENS1
Never Stop Trying
Premium,MVM
join:2002-04-21
Midwest
kudos:2
reply to INTENS1

It's back now.....that's it for me....speed is great with or without....other things to worry about.
--
Anticipate Nothing...Expect Everything



INTENS1
Never Stop Trying
Premium,MVM
join:2002-04-21
Midwest
kudos:2
reply to NetDog

Not the end of the world....just wondering what may have happened as to where I had it previously but not now.

Springfield IL
--
Anticipate Nothing...Expect Everything


wumarkus

join:2001-11-12
Alexandria, VA
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Alexandria, VA

SB6120 and ZyXEL USG 50 - some misinformation in the other USG threads, the correct settings are (should apply to any USG 3.x firmware):

WAN - SLAAC on, RA off, setup DHCP client and request for delegation, check request address, should show link local and 2001::/128 address as DHCP
LAN - SLAAC off, advanced settings request from prefix, suffix = ::1/64, DHCP off, RA on, advertise suffix = ::0/64, should show link local and 2601::1/64 address as DHCP (even though DHCP is off)

Client was Windows 7 with teredo and 6to4 disabled. Received 2601:: address as expected. The suffixes were messing things up before, if you set it to ::/64 without something in front of the slash, the setting wouldn't save. The zero took care of that problem.

DanM64

join:2013-01-10
Mokena, IL
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Mokena, IL
SBG6580 (on the trial firmware )

Kensey

join:2013-12-26
Harpers Ferry, WV
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Harpers Ferry/Charles Town, WV
Asus RT-N66U (running Merlin firmware 3.0.0.4.374.35_4)


JeepMatt
C'mon the U
Premium
join:2001-12-28
Wilmington, DE
kudos:2

1 edit
reply to INTENS1

Carry on!



INTENS1
Never Stop Trying
Premium,MVM
join:2002-04-21
Midwest
kudos:2
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Springfield IL
Linksys EA2700

I've had the same setup for years....bought a new computer with Windows 7....nothing else was changed.
--
Anticipate Nothing...Expect Everything

biomesh
Premium
join:2006-07-08
Tomball, TX
reply to NetDog

Location: Tomball, TX (suburb of Houston)
Modem: Motorola SB6141
Router: Mikrotik RB450G ROSv 6.6
OS: Win8
Browser: Chrome Version 32.0.1700.6 dev-m Aura


elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to elkido122

»stage.results.speedtest.comcast.···0624.png



elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to MDA

you can add folsom ca to the list... getting a 2601 address happy camper here



MDA

join:2013-09-10
Minneapolis, MN
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 recommendation

reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Location: Bloomington, MN
Modem + Router: Arris TM722G + D-Link DIR-636L

IPv6 became enabled in my area around the middle of July.

vandergraff2

join:2005-10-17
Los Gatos, CA

1 recommendation

reply to luckmann

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEP

Click for full size
OK I went ahead and tried in Santa Cruz County, CA - seems to be working fine.

SB6121 & ASUS RT-N66U with latest Merlin firmware with IPv6 firewall enabled.

It looks like PC's (Win7), iPad and occasionally iPhone 4S are only local IPv6 clients.

I seem to be getting /64

I ran the firewall test that was recommended in another thread »ipv6.chappell-family.com/ipv6tcptest/

All ports are are green (stealth)

I followed the Comcast recommendations and selected 'Connect to DNS Server automatically' on my router which worked fine. I also tried using OpenDNS IPv6 Sandbox IPs and these seem to work fine as well. Any downside (or upside) to using OpenDNS for IPv6 (I use their DNS servers for IPv4)

Finally ping and speed test seem identical on IPv4 / IPv6

luckmann

join:2004-06-27
Albuquerque, NM
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 edit
reply to NetDog

Finally got IPv6 Enabled here.

Your IP address is 2601:0:780:5e5:bdf1:967d:
Congrats! You are using IPv6 on the Comcast Cable network.
- See more at: »comcast6.net/#sthash.QOHUO7pD.dpuf

Albuquerque, NM
TM722G connected
Netgear WNDR3700v4



mustang50
Premium
join:2005-05-06
Roseville, MI
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Guess I'll be the first one from MI to report...

Roseville, MI
SB 6141
Belkin 750 db

travelguy

join:1999-09-03
Santa Fe, NM
reply to NetDog

At last!
Expand your moderator at work


tshirt
Premium,MVM
join:2004-07-11
Snohomish, WA
kudos:4
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to jjgregory

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEP

jjgregory See Profile a 2002 means you are using a 6 to 4 tunnel rather than a native IPv6 so you aren't quite done.
As you point out That router doesn't have IPv6 support, but I believe openwrt, dd-wrt and shibby all firmwares can help
as always at your own risk
»wiki.openwrt.org/toh/linksys/e3000


jjgregory
Premium
join:2009-08-05
Marietta, GA
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Marietta is a suburb of Hotlanta.
Win 7/64 bit with an E3000 Router (which is not IPv6 compatible).
Using a Cisco SG-200-08 Managed Switch behind the Router with IPv6 and LACP Teaming enabled on a 2GB Home network.
All the IPv6 addressing that one would expect to see in the Network Connection Details is there.


USR56K

join:2000-05-20
Lynnwood, WA
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Modem: Ubee DDM3513 (boot 6.1.1c, software 3.10.1315, hardware 1.47.3)
Router: Asus RT-AC66U (firmware 3.0.0.4.374_130)
OS: Win7
Browser: FF 24
--
If it's not on Google, then it doesn't exist.

**DC++ FAQ**


HunterZ

join:2003-07-16
Kent, WA

3 edits
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Got native ipv6 south of Covington, WA. Using Toastman Tomato with IPv6 mode set to "DHCPv6 with Prefix Delegation".

I actually was having problems accessing some sites this morning (especially Google ones) because my router was configured to use a tunnel or whatever while my router was getting a native ipv6 address. Seems to be fine now that I've switched over to DHCPv6 w/PD and removed all static address stuff.
Expand your moderator at work


NetDog
Premium,VIP
join:2002-03-04
Parker, CO
kudos:77
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to MDA

Re: [IPv6] Evidence of Comcast IPv6 CPE Dual Stack (CPE and CPEP

said by MDA:

Router is set in Pass-Through mode because prefix delegation works on Comcast's end (no need for DHCPv6 since DNS addresses and other client IP's passthrough successfully).

I'm not too worried ill reach the 18 quintillion address limit either

That is not the correct setup.. You shouldn't use pass-through, we will only issue you as many IP's as your account allows. You should have your router setup to accept a PD. This way all your devices will get a IP from the Pd scope and not the WAN scope.
--
Comcaster.. Network Engineer with NETO


MDA

join:2013-09-10
Minneapolis, MN

3 edits
reply to elkido122

*mod please delete*



elkido122

join:2011-02-23
Folsom, CA
reply to tshirt

Nice where at



tshirt
Premium,MVM
join:2004-07-11
Snohomish, WA
kudos:4
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 edit

1 recommendation

reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Ipv6 Ready
Looking good in my neighborhood
Snohomish, WA (served out of Everett, WA)
SB6120
DIR-655 B1 running version 2.10 firmware

briar7

join:2006-05-25
Oak Harbor, WA
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
1) Oak Harbor, WA
Modem: Motorola SB6121
Router: D-Link DIR-645

dccatl1

join:2009-12-28
Mableton, GA
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
1) Mableton, GA
2) Zoom 5341J --> Netgear WNDR4500

charlesed

join:2011-06-28
Minneapolis, MN
reply to NetDog

Click for full size
Crystal, MN
pfSense 2.1-RC1 (i386, built on Wed Aug 28 16:55:02 EDT 2013)
prev page · 1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · next