1 recommendation

reply to jadinolf

Re: 6.8% tax on using Internet Explorer 7

said by jadinolf:

said by Oleg:

What is Internet Explorer?

It's an older version of Firefox.

Goes back about 15 years.

I would say more like Netscape, but it was a great browser back than.

Name Game
Premium
join:2002-07-07
Grand Rapids, MI
kudos:7
reply to goalieskates

Re:  

said by goalieskates:

said by Oedipus:

As an IT professional, my only response to that is a hearty, resounding, "no." I'm not even a web designer and even I understand how impractical it is to build and maintain websites for browsers that haven't been cutting edge since the nineties.

Since you're not a web designer I should point out that it's easy to write browser-specific css. The variables are well known, and you can reuse the same rules on countless sites.

So as a fellow IT professional who does build websites, I say phooey. People who claim it can't be done or takes excessive programming are hobbyists. It's called degrading gracefully, and people do it every day.

Did you ever read this thread.
»www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthr···-support

Too many legit reason not to support IE7 because there are different kinds of site with various complexities and they never were created equal.

So it is not that it can't be done..but rather many reasons not to do it.
--
Gladiator Security Forum
»www.gladiator-antivirus.com/

Oleg
Premium
join:2003-12-08
Birmingham, AL
kudos:2

2 edits
Oh yea. I have seen sites like this, that are IE only. " Your browser is not supported. Download IE Now ".
Maybe this is why many companies are using IE.

Name Game
Premium
Grand Rapids, MI
said by Oleg:

Oh yea. I have seen sites like this, that are IE only. " Your browser is not supported. Download IE Now ".
Maybe this is why many companies are using IE.

Well for those who missed it..Kogan's is in Australia. So you might want to read the comment from the locals. This one stands out