how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

telco_mtl

join:2012-01-06

3 recommendations

Respect to experts

I would like to start off saying i moonlight as a house inspector, I took a 2 year course approved by the AIBQ and ANIEB and it was given by ASHII certified instructors. It was very thourough and not mickey mouse course some people assume, but sadly some people who took this course now feel they are experts in all fields of the trades. When i see collegues getting into arguments with skilled trades people it saddens me, we are there for the potential home owner to see if there are any possible issues, and guide them to the appropiate place for deeper advice. As well sadly a lot of these people have never been on a job site, growing up i was a helper to both a plumber and electrician, by no means am i an expert, but i have seen the good the bad and the ugly. all that being said, i just want Nunya and Whizkid to know that the acts of a select few in my field do not represent the opinions of the majority and i tip my hat to them for the fine advice and guidance they offer this forum.

leibold
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-09
Sunnyvale, CA
kudos:10
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET

1 recommendation

Well said. I'd just like to add that I consider home/house inspectors to be experts as well. I was well served with the one that inspected my home. He didn't find everything and much of what he found wasn't perhaps overly important. I was impressed simply by the amount of things he looked at that I would never have thought of as possible problems. I don't expect a home/house inspector to be an expert in every field instead they need to be more of a generalist. I expect them to have sufficient knowledge of all the major trades to spot trouble and where necessary I expect them to recommend detailed inspection by a mason, electrician, plumber, roofer and so on.