share rss forum feed

obeythelaw
Premium
join:2003-04-16
Bayonne, NJ
Reviews:
·Verizon FiOS

poor water pressure in just kitchen sink

Lately, I have had poor water pressure in the kitchen sink. The pressure is fine for the bathroom as is the shower. I cleaned out the aerator at the faucet and that did not help.
I called my "usual" plumber but he is out of town this week. I notice now when I turn the faucet on there is a small leak of water where the spray nozzle is.
Are there any suggestions I can take to see what may be the issue? I'm a novice. I would go out and buy a new faucet but I'm concerned about water shooting out all over or not being able to put it back. My wife will flip.

beck
Premium,MVM
join:2002-01-29
On The Road
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Stablehost.com

Do you have water shutoffs for your hot and cold under the sink? If so, then I would take the line off (if it looks good, not corroded etc) and using bucket and towels, turn the water on for each of the shutoffs (one at a time) and see if one of them is blocked. If they see to have full flow, then it's something in the faucet. Try hooking them back up and see if they are working better. Sometimes it's just a bit of junk caught in the line where it bends or a junction.

If you replace the faucet try a Moen. I like them because they have a tool to tighten them that comes with the faucet. If you have a "normal" faucet, then replacing it shouldn't be hard. Just make sure that the holes you have match the holes needed for the new faucet. Otherwise you have to cut etc.
--
Women are Angels.
And when someone breaks our wings,
we simply continue to fly...usually on a broomstick.
We are flexible like that.

obeythelaw
Premium
Bayonne, NJ

Yes. I have two shutoff valves under the sink. Would I just have to turn them in the "off" position? That would mean that no water would be flowing through?

Ken
Premium,MVM
join:2003-06-16
Markle, IN

3 recommendations