onebadmofo
gat gnitsoP
Premium Member
join:2002-03-30
Pennsylvania

onebadmofo

Premium Member

[Beginner] Mac noob here

Just got a new Mac mini at work. We want to see if this could be something in house users, and users who don't need "Windows Only" software could take advantage of, and slim down on infections, and basic freezing issues that's plagued in Windows.

I have played with Ubuntu and still have it installed on my Dell with Windows. So I must say I was some what comfortable with getting in the Mac since it seems VERY familiar to me.

So with that said, I upgraded it to 4GB RAM I had some sitting around in laptops so I figured what the heck.

I have Parallels installed and installed Win 7 Pro on it. On that installation I installed PsychConsult Provider (Windows only software) I joined that to the domain, and then kinda stopped there. I didn't create shortcuts to shared drives or printers. Cause I want to do all that on on the Mac.

--So I found out how to join (or is it bind?) the Mac to the Windows domain. But now what? I'm not sure what I gained from there.

--Also, I was able to connect to the network shares. But when I reboot, that link to them is broken and it has to fix the alias again. Is there a way to make it permanent?

Bottom line with what I'm trying to do here is, show that Mac can perform just as good as Windows does (if not better) and provide users with everything they currently have but with the stability that Windows hasn't been providing.

But I'm kinda stuck at where to go from here. I don't expect this do everything a Win machine does on our network. But I'd like to be able to search and find our network printers and shared drives (those are the 2 biggest). I'd also like to know if there is a way to set up Parallels to do an auto logon to Windows. It would be great to have it start with OSX and then boot right into Win without any user integration. Cause then the powers that be would just say, "well then, why not just USE Windows?"