Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

McBrain
BRB Face Melting

join:2010-05-06
Kalimdor
kudos:2

In need of an upgrade, requesting advice and suggestions.

Moved this over from the WoW forum, posted it in a thread over there but obviously this is a more apropriate place.

I'm about to PCS to Okinawa, and figure I could use some of the moving allowances and per diem to upgrade my rig (I'm looking at clearing $5k after paying 3 months of the mortgage before leaving). I'm going to basically completely rebuild it, salvaging a couple things from the old one; DVD drive, hard disk, and case.

Problem is, I have limited knowledge in this field. I am confident that I can build the rig, but not confident in my ability to pick the most compatible components if that makes any sense. Anyway this is what I've been looking at:

Video Card:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···14130699

Power Supply:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···17703036

CPU:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···19115072

Motherboard:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···3128541R

Ram:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···20231428

Fan:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···35103065

SSD:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···20226236

$815 in total. I plan on transferring my OS to the SSD. I have all of the other ancillary components I need; mouse, keyboard, monitor, etc.

Here is what I use currently:
»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···83229159
Bought in January 2010.

Like I said above, I would like to salvage what I can from my current machine. Anything else I can save that won't effect performance too much will be icing on the cake. I reckon $800 bucks is my budget, and I will need just the components listed above, unless I missed something. If anyone knows some products that will give me better performance for a similar price please help me out, because I'm not the most saavy when it comes to PC tech.

I'll be putting this rig together in the next couple of months.
Thoughts? Advice? Suggestions?
--