uniqs
arisk
join:2001-08-08
London, ON

arisk to Semaphore

to Semaphore

Re: Xplornet vs. Rocket/Turbo for rural dilemma

said by Semaphore:

I build wireless networks for a living. Wireless is ALWAYS an option, it's just a matter of how much are you willing to spend.

Canopy is now among the slowest 900Mhz solutions in the market. Move to a MIMO 900 solution with sufficient Fresnel and you'll make 5Mbps easy. I've seen 12Mbps over 900Mhz MIMO at 4 Kms with about 50% of it moderate deciduous foliage... but the OP doesn't want to talk about options such as that.

If guys like you would build them, they would be an option.
They don't exist.

I'm at the consumer end of things.
Am I supposed to build the infrastructure?
scorpido
Premium Member
join:2009-11-02
Abbotsford, BC

scorpido

Premium Member

Sure, build it yourself. Grab a couple Ubiquiti Rocket M5's with RD30's and find someone in town to share internet with and split the bill.
You seem to have had a good trial run with Xplornet, so go with them. You say there are no other options, so there's your best bet from the lack of address information provided.
I also can say for 100% for sure that there is another wireless option in your area. So I'm not sure where you get your information that there is not.

Semaphore
Premium Member
join:2003-11-18

Semaphore to arisk

Premium Member

to arisk
said by arisk:

said by Semaphore:

If guys like you would build them, they would be an option.
They don't exist.

I'm at the consumer end of things.
Am I supposed to build the infrastructure?

Sure I can do that. I assume You'll pay for it ? Because as I said I do it for a living so I do expect to get paid.