how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Alterkocher

join:2008-06-23
Silver Spring, MD

[Beginner] Internet Problems After Office Install

I am a Mac novice so any help you experts can give is appreciated. I recently purchased a new iMac running Lion and I needed Word for some work projects so I purchased and installed Microsoft Office 2008 For Mac. The installation seemed to go ok until the very end when it said "The software was successfully installed" and then I got a spinning beachball for several minutes. I rebooted the iMac and Word seems to work fine, but ever since I installed Office 2008 my DSL is flaky and Safari sometimes locks up or acts like it cannot find any websites which never happened before. Does anyone know if maybe Office 2008 is causing my internet connection to act weird and if so what can I do about it.

lordpuffer
RIP lil
Premium
join:2004-09-19
Rio Rancho, NM
kudos:2
Reviews:
·CableOne
You could uninstall/trash Office, then see if how your DSL and Safari work. You can always reinstall it.

BTW, I have a mid-2011 iMac running Lion and have Microsoft Office 2011.....No issues.
--
Obama in 2012 - There's No Tea Left In The Bag.

Mike
Premium,Mod
join:2000-09-17
Pittsburgh, PA
kudos:1
reply to Alterkocher
That's strange.

Is it done downloading all the patches and what not? Is the machine completely up to date? Apple -> Software Update

Alterkocher

Silver Spring, MD
i have not upgraded to 10.7.4 because the internet says it messes up my bluetooth mouse and keyboard. I have not done any updates to office yet either because some people said the updates make it incompatible with Lion. I guess maybe I am listening to too many negative comments on Google. i will try updating Office later today. Thanks for that suggestion.

Alterkocher

Silver Spring, MD