spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

UverseTech

join:2012-08-04

Uverse in general

I have been a uverse tech for some time now and have many things to say. First off the product is great in theory (lab) but in the real world each install is as different as people are different. The main problem is the MANAGEMENT from top down. The techs are forced to meet unrealistic time requirements or they will be pushed out the door or be fired. This is why most uverse installs are shoddy. You will also find your tech has less than 6 months experience and has the deer in the headlights look because they are still so green, you should probably cancel at this time unless you enjoy frustration. Your reward will be to sit on the phone for hours on end with support personnel with the same amount of experience and in the end, 2-3 hours, sending out a tech anyway.

If you want a good install tell the tech to run a cat5 homerun to the gateway, and if they try to use the existing cable, run them off and cancel. Coax is the worst form of a uverse install, on any tv, make the tech run new cat 5 to each box. ALL customers get 3 free homeruns included in their install, which is rarely discussed.

Another firm request is DO NOT let the tech use a 3800 model gateway, these are nothing but refurbished junk. I feel sorry for the customers in Dallas, Houston and San Antonio, they get this model installed on a regular basis. This model was antiquated in March 2010 and replaced with the smaller all black 3801.

I would suggest to all that suffer from resetting the 3800 all the time to demand a 3801 and a credit for putting up with this substandard equipment.