uniqs

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er to point125

to point125

Re: [Connectivity] "not servicable" despite trunk line

trunk it called trunk for a reason....normally taps are not inline on trunk runs.....what they could do is cut a DC (directional coupler/fancy splitter), and mount an amp at that point; which as was said needs power. Then run feeder (smaller hardline) back to you, and put a tap within a hundred feet of your house.
point125
join:2012-08-06

1 edit

point125

I thank you all for your replies, you are starting to move out of my vocabulary though so please forgive me for asking about things google does not provide definitions for.
said by tshirt:

If it's just one house, it will likely be in the 10K plus range (and that's not the whole cost, comcast would be covering quite a bit.
However if you check with the local "construction" office, thet will arrange to have it survyed AND give you an exact estimate for a plant extension.
good luck

BTW the non cash part of the cost is they will REQUIRE a permanent RoW easement, deeded if that is required in your state.

Well, I own the road frontage and the utilities already run to the house, so I don't think it's an issue of having a place to put it.
said by DocDrew:

Yes cable taps are done at specific points.

Trunk lines are between the node and amplifiers or between 2 amplifiers . Feeder lines are from amps to taps. So if it's truly a "trunk" line, they won't tap it. The cable company will tap a feeder line though, if they signal is strong enough and it won't put customers further down the line out of acceptable signal levels.

So trunk line is from node, going along with amplifiers, feeder lines only come off from where amplifiers are and terminate at taps which then run drops to homes?