C'mon the U
Premium
join:2001-12-28
Wilmington, DE
kudos:2
Reviews:
·Comcast

4 Upstream Channels

So since D3 modems can support at the minimum 4x4 with Downstream / Upstream - is there any reason why Comcast decided to allocate 8 QAM's to downstream (in the most updated areas) but only 3 upstream?

First thought would be to at least do 4 - but I wondered if there are technical reasons (noise) for this that prohibited them from adding that 4th channel??

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

5-42mhz is the sub band......take into account diplex filter rolloff in amps, and your at 5-37ish.

Then subtract the 5-18 garbage you cannot avoid, so your left with 18-37mhz. 19 usable mhz worth of space.

6.4mhz per 64qam, 3.2 for a 16qam, and dont forget the box driver!!!

so approximately 16mhz is used for 3 channels, 2 64s and a 16....and a couple db for the qpsk box driver and youre at 18mhz.

can you throw another 16qam down in the garbage of 5-18? sure, but no modem will use it...
--
I'm better than you!

telcodad

join:2011-09-16
Lincroft, NJ
kudos:3
reply to JeepMatt

As gar187er said, fitting 4 upstream HSI QAM carriers in that 18 to 37 MHz usable spectrum area is a challenge.

However, in some field trials back in 2010, Comcast had managed to obtain an upstream data rate of 75 Mbps by bonding two 6.4MHz-wide 64QAM channels with two 3.2MHz-wide 16QAM ones in that space (»www.lightreading.com/document.as···lr_cable). I suppose this is how they figure they will be able offer the 65 Mbps upload speed for the new 305/65 "Platinum" HSI tier.

Looking through all the modem signal screen captures posted in Johkal's »[Signals] Evidence of Upstream Channel Bonding - Post Here stickied thread, the majority of the systems do just show having the usual two 64QAM channels along with one (legacy DOCSIS 1.X) 16QAM one, at the time they were captured.