spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Paultergeist

join:2012-08-11

[CA] Newbie needs some basic education -- help is appreciated!

Greetings!

First of all, let me apologize for my lack of knowledge. I am not an IT professional. My wife has a small home office-based business which relies heavily upon the Internet. Cox is the only high-speed ISP in our geographical area. Because of numerous and recurring Internet issues, mu wife's business has taken some (legitamate) criticism, and I am trying to jump in to understanding our Internet connectivity here at our home.

I am going to summarize what is a history of Internet and TV issues over many years. Often, things work, some times, things do not. When I have called Cox tech support during those times that things are not working, Cox tech support personnel always blame our computer, our router, or our software. After hiring an IT professional to come to my home on several occasions and essentially "duking it out" with the Cox tech support personnel, we are arriving at the conclusion that the problem is one of an over-subscribed Internet service in my area. I am observing -- during times when things are not working -- 0 up-load speeds and "lost packets" during ping tests, etc. Eventually, things seems to start working again, but not due to any actions on my part......I assume other users are simply logging off.....?

Some questions, please:

1. We currently have a Cox "at Home" bundled Internet and TV service. It has been suggested that we would have a more stable Internet service if we upgraded to a "business" Internet service. Despite many phone calls, I have been unable to get any information that seems to establish whether business internet service will be any more stable than residential Internet service?