uniqs
share rss forum feed

owlyn
Premium,MVM
join:2004-06-05
Newtown, PA
Reviews:
·Comcast

[Connectivity] Just Got Blast - How Are My Levels?

Click for full size
I ask because I was having random disconnects with the old modem on Performance tier (Arris 602). I am hoping it was a modem problem and not a signal problem. So... here is what I have now on the 722G.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

1 recommendation

could be better....-8/51 isnt what i would strive for....if you can bypass one splitter it would have much more favorable signal....and might clear up some of those downstream eerors your counters are showing.
--
I'm better than you!

JigglyWiggly

join:2009-07-12
Pleasanton, CA
reply to owlyn
gross
i mean it will work
but it's not pretty

owlyn
Premium,MVM
Newtown, PA
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to gar187er
Can't really remove a splitter. There are only two, and there's only one that could even remotely be a candidate for removal, but that would leave the guest room without TV. I suppose I could remove it and replace it with a barrel until we need the room, but it would be a pain. It's working, so I guess I'll let it be. If I drop back to the Perfomance tier, would the numbers get better or stay the same?

JoelC707
Premium
join:2002-07-09
Lanett, AL
kudos:5
Ideally, and especially with those levels, you want two splitters. A 2 port at the main incoming line with one port feeding the modem and the other port feeding the next splitter. The next splitter will be as large as need be for your TV outlets.

Assuming you have a 4 port or so splitter, you are likely losing ~7 dB if not more since this is on a second splitter that is likely after the first. By putting the modem on a 2 port first you could potentially bring those downstream levels up to around 0 dB but the actual figures will depend on what actual splitters you have in place and their respective loss levels (such as a balanced or unbalanced splitter).

owlyn