how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

tippy2

join:2010-10-16
Richmond, VA

[Bill] Need to purchase Cable Modem for Comcast HD

Hello, I live in Chesterfield County VA and Comcast has just increased my monthly bill to $173 per month. I now have Preferred XF, HBO, phone and 2 HD digital preferred cable boxes. My guest room TV is connected to a scientific atlanta explorer 4250HDC box. I would like to replace this box with my own cable modem to lower my Comcast bill. I also have a internet DVD player Sony blue ray BDP S370 connect for Netflix etc.Can anyone recommend a cable modem that will deliver the same quality HD channels? thanks in advance.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

cable modems are for internet, not for television service.
--
I'm better than you!

andyross
Premium,MVM
join:2003-05-04
Schaumburg, IL
reply to tippy2

As mentioned, modems are for Internet, not TV (other than streaming). Also, you cannot buy your own cable box. The closest is something like a Tivo or computer tuner with CableCard support. Do NOT buy a cable box on eBay or similar. They are either stolen or for non-US markets.

If you don't need HD and it's OK to limit that TV to Starter and no OnDemand or MusicChoice or program guide, you can get a DTA instead if they are available in your area. It may be either free, or more likely now, only $1.99/month.

bgoodbody
Bill G

join:2002-05-08
North Truro, MA
reply to tippy2

If you have Comcast Digital Voice you require and eMTA.

The eMTA's are charged for ($7.00 per month here). They also support your Internet Connection. So no need for Cable Modem. Also no savings as you still need the eMTA for the phone service.

Here they have used the Arris line for some time. I am very happy with mine.
--
- Bill

tippy2

Richmond, VA