uniqs
billydunwood
join:2008-04-23
united state

billydunwood to PatPatate

to PatPatate

Re: [Rant] Car Wash Employees dont get all their tips

said by PatPatate:

Then if it's only the 2 of them, it would be logical they get all the tip.

I worked in an hotel's restaurant when I was a student. Depending on the day we were between 1 and 3 who's job was to help the waiters, clean table, make sure the glasses and silverware were shinning, etc, so they can ofter good and quick service to the customers.

While we didn't interact with the customers, the waiters were forced to give us a part of the tips.

Another part of our job was also to deliver food to rooms, and we would get tip directly for this. The problem is that there was always 1 lazy guy who stopped working and relaxed when all the stuff for the night was done. Other workers usually continued preparing stuff for the next day. So when there was something to deliver to the rooms, guess who was asked to do it? The guy doing nothing. He didn't deserve all the tip for himself. So we splitted.

I understand. But if I am a customer, and I give an employee a tip, it should go to that employee, not anyone else.Plus, when it gets put into a box, and the manager/owner takes money inside, they could take a tip without the employees knowing. And its not right to split the tips evenly among a person who dries 10 cars as opposed to completely detailing 4.

PatPatate
join:2008-02-10
Sainte-Julie, QC

4 edits

PatPatate

said by billydunwood:

I understand. But if I am a customer, and I give an employee a tip, it should go to that employee, not anyone else.Plus, when it gets put into a box, and the manager/owner takes money inside, they could take a tip without the employees knowing. And its not right to split the tips evenly among a person who dries 10 cars as opposed to completely detailing 4.

As I said, it depends on the job.