how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

mbruno

join:2003-07-03
Fruitland, MD

[Info] Cisco ASA5505

I was wondering if someone could shed some light on the ASA5505 for me. Specifically the DMZ feature, I was looking to buy one but as always Cisco seems to be very vague on details. Or I just do not know where to look. To my knowledge the ASA5505 comes in variety of different feature sets. I know the security plus feature offers the full DMZ where as the base model only offers the limited DMZ.

My question is what is limited on the DMZ? Would it be trunking? I am really just looking for something I can practice on since the Pix are end of line.

Thanks all.

WireHead
I drive to fast
Premium
join:2001-05-09
Muncie, IN
You had me thinking so I perused some older posts.

Hope this helps, check this thread.

»ASA5505 help
--
Retired BBR Team Starfire Team Q III Host
Live by chance. Love by choice. Kill by profession.

HELLFIRE
Premium
join:2009-11-25
kudos:19

1 recommendation

reply to mbruno
Base licence gives "DMZ-lite" functionality (I use that term very sarcastically)
in that it's not full DMZ communicability -- IIRC DMZ can communicate to the
outside / untrusted interface but CANNOT communicate with the inside, even if you
configure it.

Also, BASE cannot do dot1q trunking while SECPLUS can.

If you want REAL DMZ connectivity, budget for SECPLUS licence. If this is just
for practice, you should be able to get away with a BASE licence.

Regards

imanon

@comcast.net
I think this is best explained here:
»www.gomjabbar.com/?p=1624

What HELLFIRE points out is very important:
"BASE cannot do dot1q trunking while SECPLUS can"
...this is where your going to get frustrated

mbruno

Fruitland, MD
reply to HELLFIRE