spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

HackedWEP

@videotron.ca

[Eng] Router was WEP cracked. $600 in overages. What can we do?

Synopsis:

One of my roommates switched the router from WPA to WEP a few months ago. Sometime around mid July, the router's WEP key was cracked, the login/password changed, and immense torrenting was begun. We have the 70Mbit TGV package.

Overage amounts to nearly $600.

We have about as much proof of it being WEP hacked as you can get. The usage pattern is hugely abnormal, with discrete start/stop dates that any idiot would identify.

Videotron refuses to compromise on the amount.

What is our recourse here? Can we take this to small claims against Videotron? Anyone have experience with this?

We live in the downtown area near Lucien L'Allier.

ns1225

join:2010-12-30
Montreal, QC
Reviews:
·Bell Sympatico

Re: [Eng] Router was WEP cracked. $600 in overages. What can we

I have no personal experience dealing with such a problem but what I would do is call back a few times, get different CS agents, and see if one will negotiate to bring it down to an acceptable flat fee. Or let you retroactively add usage blocks. Reason with them that this has never happened, using historical usage data or whatever and see if they are nice.

I don't think they'll remove the charge completely so your better plan on moving to an independent ISP.

Problem with courts is legally they're allowed to charge for usage above the limit and your problem isn't with Videotron but the hacker, or roommate...

pducharme

join:2010-06-29
Sherbrooke, QC
reply to HackedWEP

I would contact videotron on twitter, they are prettygood to try keeping the good image when exposed publicly. Explain the situation in couple of tweets

En Enfer
This account has been compromised

join:2003-07-25
Montreal, QC
kudos:4
reply to HackedWEP

On a justice matter, Videotron have the upper hand.

quote: