how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Scouser1892

@videotron.ca

Creating VPN

Hi all,

I have little IT knowledge and wish to ask you for your help regarding setting up a VPN.

Here my situation, I will be traveling abroad for few months ( China ) and wish to be able to access YT, google and such sites that are banned in China while im there. Last I got an openvpn for few bucks a month, it worked very well and I was happy. Problem is, in my future trip I'd be logging in regularly to PayPal, online banking and I'd prefer to set up my own VPN at home before traveling, and be able to connect to it from China, cheaper and most importantly safer.

So question is, can I turn my own modem cable/ cisco router into a VPN and then connect to it from China? For someone who is somehow savvy in networks ( not me ), is it fair to say such set up is easy to accomplish?

Thanks for your help.

bdnhsv

join:2012-01-20
Huntsville, AL

If your router has built in functionality to be a VPN server then it wouldn't be too difficult. If not, you'd be looking at either replacing the router (with one that has VPN server abilities) or adding a separate VPN server - which would require more configuration such as port forwarding, etc.

The biggest kicker is whether or not you have a static IP at home. If so, then you would easily be able to reach your VPN server from anywhere. If you have a dynamic IP, then you'd have to sign up for some sort of dynamic DNS service, get that configured on your router or VPN server, and use the URL provided to you from the dynamic DNS service to connect home. There are sometimes charges for dynamic DNS services, but there also are some that may be free.

leibold
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-09
Sunnyvale, CA
kudos:10
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
reply to Scouser1892

Setting up a VPN server isn't overly difficult but it does help to have a good grasp of networking basics (especially IP routing).