uniqs
share rss forum feed

fishacura

join:2008-01-25
Phoenixville, PA
reply to aaronwt

Re: FIOS prices getting outrageous

said by aaronwt:

Then that will be the push I need to give them back their routers. I have four of them gathering dust in my closet. You can get much better routers than what FiOS uses.

I'm not a network expert and always wondered about this. Can I just pick up any old router to replace my actiontec and go to 192.168.1.1 and plug-n-play? Is it pretty much that easy or fairly involved?
--
People who don't get good service on average tell 10 others while people who do get good service on average tell 1.

danclan

join:2005-11-01
Midlothian, VA

said by fishacura:

said by aaronwt:

Then that will be the push I need to give them back their routers. I have four of them gathering dust in my closet. You can get much better routers than what FiOS uses.

I'm not a network expert and always wondered about this. Can I just pick up any old router to replace my actiontec and go to 192.168.1.1 and plug-n-play? Is it pretty much that easy or fairly involved?

if you are provisioned via ethernet yes, otherwise you need a coax MOCA capable router.

birdfeedr
Premium,MVM
join:2001-08-11
Warwick, RI
kudos:9

said by danclan:

said by fishacura:

Can I just pick up any old router to replace my actiontec and go to 192.168.1.1 and plug-n-play?

if you are provisioned via ethernet yes, otherwise you need a coax MOCA capable router.

That's for the WAN side. Also, if you have TV service and use a VZ-provided STB or DVR, you'll need MoCA for the LAN side.

fishacura

Phoenixville, PA
reply to navyson

Sorry yes I have all Verizon...I have coax running to my router and ethernet running out of the router to the main home computer. So I need a coax MOCA capable router it sounds like. Any specific recommendations on ones you KNOW will work with FIOS?
--
People who don't get good service on average tell 10 others while people who do get good service on average tell 1.