how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

nine9s2

join:2005-02-09
Richmond, TX

1 edit

How much data does DirecTv on-demand use on Comcast HSI?

I have Comcast Performance internet (no TV with Comcast) and I am getting DirecTv this Friday.

DirecTv uses your broadband connection for its on-demand watching. DirecTv is supposed to be the less compressed HD of the main providers, so I suppose it is a lot of data (but maybe they compress the broadband streaming more.)

Anyone know what a typical 2 hour HD movie, on DirecTv, downloads on Comcast HSI?

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
2 gigs per hr of HD viewing isnt far fetched...
--
I'm better than you!

dfhzdhzdfshz

@comcast.net
For the moment you can use as you want, but if caps are applied to your area you'll either have to limit the on demand use or get a business class account.

espaeth
Digital Plumber
Premium,MVM
join:2001-04-21
Minneapolis, MN
kudos:2
reply to nine9s2
Based on the shows I've been grabbing from HBO On Demand now that they fully mirror what's available on HBO Go, the on-demand HD content is roughly 2.5 - 3.5GB per hour of video content.

nine9s2

Richmond, TX
Thanks.

nine9s2

Richmond, TX
reply to nine9s2
On another message board, as I understood the person, someone implied that your DIRECTV DVR communicates with DIRECTV via your internet connection to request a download but the DIRECTV Cinema download of the movie/show actually comes via the satellite to your DVR. Is that correct - therefore not much data usage on the internet of the actual content?

Jeremy W

join:2010-01-21
That is incorrect. Some DirecTV Cinema movies do come from the satellite, but it's a relatively small number and they don't require an Internet connection at all. The vast majority of the content is downloaded over the Internet.

JPnATL

join:2011-11-16
Bethlehem, GA
Reviews:
·Comcast
reply to nine9s2