All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

[WildBlue] Trying to Decide:

Hello: I REALLY appreciate finding this forum. I am buying a weekend home in the desert canyons a couple of hours from LA. I have gone through every option for internet and am down to (I believe) Wild Blue/Excede or an AT&T 3G hotspot (no 4G where I am). For AT&T I would not use my iphone but rather purchase the small device they sell for that and get a contract on it.
I see from many postings that neither of these is optimal but unfortunately its all I've got. Any advice on which to choose would be GREATLY appreciated. For Wild Blue we are in the 12mbps region. How does speed for that compare with AT&T 3g? I understand reliability for Wild Blue leaves a lot to be desired. Same for AT&T "hot spot"?
I am an artist and would be using wireless mostly for e-mails and web surfing/site visiting including youtube. I have a lot of video work on vimeo but realize I would not be able to down/up load video because of amount limits. So the plan is to do the video work elsewhere. (ugh...)
Anything anyone can offer that would be helpful here would be terrific.
Many thanks,
John

OldSatUser

join:2012-05-10
Fresno, OH

Exede-12 is definitely faster than 3G. With 4G...I would say speeds are similar. Latency is higher with satellite, so it doesn't work well with some applications, such as online gaming.

With your situation and doing the type of usage you have noted...Exede appears to be the way to go. I have both Exede and 3G at my house. When I had the old Wildblue...I did use the 3G more. Now with Exede...unless there is an outage (due to weather, maintenance, etc.) I am not using the 3G at all. And if your Exede service is properly installed...I don't think you will have many outage problems. Overall...Exede is pretty stable now.

DrStrangLov

join:2012-03-28
reply to JohninYucca

said by JohninYucca :