spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

TheHox

join:2012-05-31

UBNT AirMax - What does what?

So I am just learning this stuff, I have been around it for a while, I have used a lot of the UniFi stuff for warehouses etc, but we are branching out into some of the AirMax type work.

Looking that the product lineup, I'm getting confused looking at it all, what does what?

Rocket M, Bullet M, Nanostations, ProwerBridge, AirGrid, etc.

Looking to setup 1 POP to feed about 500 hundred customers. +/- 100

Half of which have clear LOS, the others are behind trees, so I see using 900mhz, but I hear the UBNT 900 doesn't work well with the GPS issues.

What would one recommend to use for APs and customer SMs. Keeping in mind that we would like to have some higher bandwidth packages, 3mb, 5mb, 8mb, 10mb?

Thanks for the help.

Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON
kudos:2

1 pop, 500 customers, 10 meg plans.

Won't be easy !!
--
OptionsDSL Wireless Internet
»www.optionsdsl.ca

TheHox

2 edits
reply to TheHox

Well 500 customers is a rough estimate of total customers within the first year or two? The area we are going into has around 1300 homes within a 5 mile radius.

Only 1 physical tower is needed to reach each home, but maybe breaking out other towers is needed to load balance the APs?
We do have another tower we can use, but it is almost too close. Like 1 mile away from our main 200ft tower.

What is better? Have them all on 1 tower? Or use 2+ towers and play with GPS timing and freq tuning/shielding.

What have others done out there? Or does nobody offer speeds that fast?

Fill a tower with 3 2.4 APs, 3 3ghz, and 3 5ghz APs, and maybe 1 900?

And we will offer 10MB plans, not to say many customers would opt for them, as it will be pricey, but I would like to have the option, if at all possible.

wirelessdog

join:2008-07-15
Queen Anne, MD
kudos:1
reply to TheHox