spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Drewdles3
@teksavvy.com

Drewdles3

Anon

[DSL] Static Subnet Issues - packet loss

Hey fellow networkers... I have been running with teksavvy for about 6 months now and have nothing but praise on the 16Mb plan. I have been using a static IP just fine on a Windows server box.
Recently I added a 29 subnet which gets routed through that static IP (note it is a completely different subnet which is normal). I have a Linksys Tomato box that routes the subnet. When I plug a laptop into that Linksys and assign it an IP of that subnet, everything is rock solid and runs wonderful. I can ping continuously to yahoo.com or wherever.
The problem lies is I want to setup a seaparate router for my home network to be my LAN gateway. In the past I had used the windows machine and sharing the internet connection which worked fine on it's own, when hooked up through the Linksys, it would drop packets all over the place. So I went out and bought a DLINK DSR-250 services router (slightly better than home grade), and I get the same thing, pings dropping every 2-10 pings (usually only one missed ping) and obvious packet loss again. I dropped MTU all the way down to 1200 in case that was an issue, didn't make any difference. I am not an expert here, part of this was to be a learning process, but I really am stumped and not sure what else to try or adjust.