spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

timmah88

@shawcable.net

Getting internet on other computers

Hi, I'm not very good with computers and need some help. I currently have Shaw internet and would like to get wireless internet on two laptops that we have. The equipment that we currently have is an old blue motorola cable modem and an old d-link router that we bought about 10 years ago. What are my options here, do I need to get new equipment? I've read that using the new Shaw modem(with built in router) is slow and that having a seperate router is best. Thank you.

rustydusty

join:2009-09-29
Red Deer, AB

Your best bet will definitely be to upgrade your wireless router. There's tons of options for upgrades. How big is the house and what is your price range?

tlhIngan

join:2002-07-08
Richmond, BC
kudos:1
reply to timmah88

Well, given you're using a 10 year old router, the combined modem-routers probably wouldn't be too big of a limitation.

However, unless you have plans to upgrade to BB50 or better, changing the modem involves having to visit Shaw to exchange the modem and provision service. It's probably just easier to go visit Future Shop or Best Buy and pick up a wireless router because you can do it all yourself.

What you need to do is decide on a budget - after all, they go anywhere from $20 to $200+, and there are very real reasons for the price spread.

twixt

join:2004-06-27
North Vancouver, BC
reply to timmah88

said by timmah88 :

Hi, I'm not very good with computers and need some help. I currently have Shaw internet and would like to get wireless internet on two laptops that we have. The equipment that we currently have is an old blue motorola cable modem and an old d-link router that we bought about 10 years ago. What are my options here, do I need to get new equipment? I've read that using the new Shaw modem(with built in router) is slow and that having a separate router is best. Thank you.

-