|reply to footballdude |
Re: [MLB] play-in
When I was watching the game Friday, I immediately thought that infield fly call was bogus. Having read the actual rule a few times since, I'm not so sure anymore. Turns out the infield fly rule applies to any ball being caught by an infielder, not necessarily a ball on the infield. There's no doubt the shortstop was there to make the catch, before bailing out at the last minute.
People keep asking why the call wasn't overturned. The rule books says that the infield fly is a judgement call and cannot be overturned by another umpire. Also, if you weren't listening to the Cardinal broadcast, you might not know this, but the home plate umpire made the signal for infield fly at the same time that the left field ump did.
Concentrated power has always been the enemy of liberty - Ronald Reagan
This will probably be the first World Series that i'll be watching in 10+ years. All for the dead legs, i think they should get in. they are up on the giants and only need one more to clinch, they would have to pull one of the old famous red's choke's to blow it now.