how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

ticketyboo

join:2012-10-12
united kingd

Netgear config. - confusion reigns

Can anyone help me understand the specifics of configuring DNS on my FVS336G firewall? I know what DNS is and what it does but I'm not a network expert (obviously).

I've got a LAN connected through a gigabit port on the FVS336G. This bit works fine. The 336G is connected from the WAN1 port on the 336G to an ethernet port on the cable modem/router. The WAN port on the cable modem/router has a static IP address.

My problem is slow browsing on the Web and intermittently I get a message saying that something(?) can't resolve DNS addresses (usually Google).

The cable modem/router has the static IP address defined and a primary and secondary DNS server (presumably located at my cable ISP). The modem/router has DHCP set to on. The 336G is presumably acting more as a switch but has DHCP on to provide IP addresses to my LAN devices. I've been playing around with DNS addresses on the WAN page of the 336G browser but it's really not clear if I need to specify them here, or if they will be applied by the modem/router when packets pass from 336G through WAN port to ethernet port on modem/router. Clearly DNS is being translated sometimes but not at other times. This confuses the hell out of me! The 336G config pages provide a number of options to define DNS servers: on the WAN1 ISP config page and on the LAN settings page. It didn't work when I entered the DNS servers on the WAN page, even though that is the most intuitive location. I've got Internet access with them defined on the LAN settings page (under DHCP setting), but with intermittent DNS failures.

The Cable modem/router is (I think) on a different IP subnet to my 336G firewall (modem address is 192.168.0.1 - 336G is 192.168.1.1) but I'm not sure if that matters as I can access the Internet through the firewall and the cable modem.