how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

SW20 MR2

join:2007-05-03
Markham, ON

[Internet] Setting Up Non-Bell Email Account

I just had Bell 15/10 service setup at my house. I've had a Rogers email address that I've been using for many years, and I'm trying to set it up in Outlook 2007. I can receive emails no problem, but I can't send. I've tried using both Bell and Rogers SMTP servers. Is it not possible or are my settings wrong? Any help would be appreciated.

ruggs

join:2012-03-26
Ontario
Incoming mail server (POP)
POP Server: pophm.sympatico.ca
Port: 995
SSL required: Yes (Select This server requires a secure connection (SSL) or Use SSL.)

Outgoing mail server (SMTP)
SMTP Server: smtphm.sympatico.ca
Port: 25 (or 587 if port 25 does not work)
Authentication required: Yes
TLS/SSL required: Yes (Select TLS if available, if not, select SSL.)

»support.bell.ca/Internet/Email/W···ell-Mail

SW20 MR2

Markham, ON
I can log into the Rogers POP server no problem to retrieve my email, so it's the SMTP that I need to get up and running. I tried the SMTP server that you put above, but no luck.

FWIW, I haven't actually setup a Bell email account (don't need it), but they gave me a user ID and password when they setup my internet service. That one didn't work. Do I need to setup an actual email account in order to be able to log into the SMTP server?

decx
Premium
join:2002-06-07
Vancouver, BC
Yes. You can't log into Bell's SMTP with your Rogers account credentials. Even if you do get an account Bell's server may substitute your Rogers email address with your Bell address in the From header field.

SW20 MR2

Markham, ON
That really sucks. When I was with Teksavvy, I could use their SMTP server no problem to send via my Rogers email address.

I've been putting it off, but I guess it's probably time to use my gmail account as my main account.

The_Hatta

join:2011-08-16
canada
reply to SW20 MR2