spc
Search similar:

uniqs

learningathi
@sbcglobal.net

learningathi

Anon

HVAC question

i am an apprentice so to speak working as a maintenance guy at this apartments. i read the technical books here and there but they go beyond the AC maintenance for an apartment complex. so i actually believe that i know now a lot more than the other workers working there. so yes to get to the question...so i was defrosting an AC unit the other day in a hurry because it was almost the end of the shift. i grabbed a hand held torch (one of those u put lighter gas in) to hurry up and melt the ice to get it back running. so i got it working good.. now today i heard this guy saying that using a torch messes up the refrigerant..is that true? my gut feeling is no because i didn't even get the metal hot and two...the compressor motor gets reallll hot to even touch it for 5 minutes on a hot day and when the fan motor goes bad, it gets really hot too for the inner thermal element to disconnect...

my gut feeling is that no..if i am wrong, i would like to learn this from the experts but if i am right, how would i go on telling this "expert" (he has been working there for like 17 yers)...that he is wrong?

thanks in advance. i guess that was two questions

battleop
join:2005-09-28

battleop

I used to own some commercial office buildings and we did this on a rare occasion as quick fix to get tenants relief until our HVAC contractor could find and fix the real problem. Our HVAC contractor said you could damage the unit if you applied too much heat and suggested a heat gun over a torch both to avoid too much heat and a risk of fire.

I am certain if not done correctly you can damage your unit if not done carefully.

garys_2k
Premium Member
join:2004-05-07
Farmington, MI

garys_2k to learningathi

Premium Member

to learningathi