Search similar:

uniqs

Morac
Cat god
join:2001-08-30
Riverside, NJ

Morac

MoCA POE filter?

I've been using MoCA in my home for a few years now and never had a MoCA POE filter (i.e. low pass filter) installed (I simply use encrypted MoCA). I've been having some cable signal problems recently and figured it might be a good idea to have a POE filter just in case so I ordered two (one for before the modem and one for outside the house).

I had a tech come out today because of the issues and I mentioned that I was getting the POE filters and he said to not bother installing them as they aren't needed and simply add another point of failure along the line.

Is the tech correct, are MoCA POE's unnecessary?

On a side note, yesterday my modem lost upstream signal and my TV signals were pretty bad. I ended up disconnecting my Netgear MoCA bridge (which is inline between the modem and the wall) from the coax cable and then re-connecting it and after doing so my modem locked and my TV signals were much better. Could the bridge have caused all my house signals to go bad?

andyross
MVM
join:2003-05-04
Aurora, IL

andyross

MVM

You should use the filter to prevent your signals from running back into other users. As more MoCA is used, that could cause conflicts if your neighbors start using it.

Morac
Cat god
Riverside, NJ

Morac

I suppose, though the encryption should take care of that. Plus there's really no place to buy MoCA devices these days and my neighbors aren't that tech savvy.

My main question is why a Comcast tech would tell me to not install a POE?

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er

probably because they dont even access to them (due to inventory).

while on higher value taps, it shouldnt be an issue of not installing one; however on a low value tap, say a 4,7,or 10 i could see it causing issues.

andyross
MVM
join:2003-05-04
Aurora, IL

andyross to Morac

MVM

to Morac
said by Morac: