site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
3557
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·TekSavvy DSL Reviews ·TekSavvy Forum FAQ ·Speedtest results
AuthorAll Replies

Leafybits

join:2012-10-21
Montreal, QC

[DSL] Outgoing email being blocked to one particular address

Since yesterday, I've been unable to send email to a particular friend I've emailed numerous times before (with no problems). It keeps bouncing back with this message (certain details edited for privacy)

The following message to (friend's email addy) was undeliverable.
The reason for the problem:
5.3.0 - Other mail system problem 554-'5.7.1 The message from (my email addy) with the subject of (subject matter) matches a profile the Internet community may consider spam. Please revise your message before resending.'

Could we be on a blacklist with certain ISPs again? Could the fact the my friend's email has a bz. domain be important?


WhaleOilBee
What a long strange trip it's been

join:2011-08-02
Manotick, ON

Without seeing the "subject matter", one could only speculate that perhaps it contains words or phrases that are being interpreted as spam?


Leafybits

join:2012-10-21
Montreal, QC

I sent three different messages, all with different subjects and completely different content. The recipient is a 66-year-old lady, so seriously, there wasn't anything in any of the 3 emails that could have been considered "risque". I'm wondering if it has more to do with her domain host being Network Solutions in the States - maybe they updated their spam list and somehow we're on it?



TSI Danielle
Premium
join:2012-05-31
kudos:9

I haven't heard of any one else getting bounced messages so far. Does she have her domain email forwarded to another service like gmail or hotmail, et al?

Danielle



sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
Ottawa
kudos:4
Reviews:
·TekSavvy Cable

1 edit

This message seems to be appearing a lot lately, and interestingly the text doesn't actually match the problem ... a lot of people getting it are doing so because either the originating IP or the smtp server IP is on a blacklist.

edit ...

It seems that 206.248.154.182

ironport2-out.teksavvy.com is listed in the lashback and redhawk rbls


Leafybits

join:2012-10-21
Montreal, QC

reply to TSI Danielle
No, her local provider is Bell, and she has not changed anything in her services any time recently. She has been receiving other emails, but it seems just mine are being blocked. And again, it's only recently, as I've emailed her before without any problems.



TSI Danielle
Premium
join:2012-05-31
kudos:9

Can you IM me with her domain and I'll have our networking area have a look at it? See if we can find any blacklisting going on.

Thanks,
Danielle


MaynardKrebs
Premium
join:2009-06-17
kudos:4

said by TSI Danielle:

Can you IM me with her domain and I'll have our networking area have a look at it? See if we can find any blacklisting going on.

Thanks,
Danielle

sbrook already pointed out what the problem is


TSI Danielle
Premium
join:2012-05-31
kudos:9

Thanks, I've already forwarded both Leafybits and sbrook's information to Networking.

Danielle



B0unc3

@74.198.164.x

Don't think bell would give such a bounceback error, how about giving the full header of the bounce?



sbrook
Premium,Mod
join:2001-12-14
Ottawa
kudos:4

According to leafybits her hosting provider is Network Solutions not Bell ... Bell just provides connectivity ... and has her own domain.


Wednesday, 22-May 08:01:53 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics