spc
Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

bakoma

@purdue.edu

Remote Desktop to home on Comcast

Remote Desktop to home on Comcast

My home ISP is Comcast. The connection is like: Comcast Modem->Router(Netgear wtg614v10)->PCS(XP)

I have one of the XPs [IP=10.0.0.5] enabled for remote desktop.
At home, I used another PC and tested mstsc /v:10.0.0.5, it worked.

Then on router, I port forwarded external port 70.71.72.73:3389 to 10.0.0.5:3389. Say my external IP(70.71.72.73), then I did a test mstsc /v:70.71.72.73, it did not work however. I can ping IP(70.71.72.73), it works. I tested port 3389 on IP(70.71.72.73) with »www.canyouseeme.org/, it has no connectivity.

BTW, I usually map my drive at work, say \\90.91.92.93 when my laptop(XP3) is connected to RoadRunner(different from work place). But when I take my laptop home and the previously mapped drive is not accessible and no longer accessible at \\90.91.92.93.

I am a company IT Admin with hardware/software for many years, but just stuck with Comcast at home. Can anybody give me a clue?

graysonf
Premium,MVM
join:1999-07-16
Fort Lauderdale, FL
kudos:2
Reviews:
·Comcast
Most home type routers will not allow you to connect to the public IP and port of a port forwarded service from within the LAN.

As for the filesharing problems, the list of ports Comcast blocks on their network »customer.comcast.com/help-and-su···d-ports/

shows that both NetBios and SMB ports are blocked making Microsoft filesharing broken. Configure and use a VPN or other solution if you need to do that.

pflog
Bueller? Bueller?
Premium,MVM
join:2001-09-01
El Dorado Hills, CA
kudos:3
reply to bakoma
It may be that Comcast blocks the RDP port for residential connections, though I thought they did not.

Can you double check your firewall and forwarding settings? Some routers require you to both forward the port AND add it as an allowed port.