All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Archangel83
join:2009-11-02

Archangel83

[Speed Problem] DSL Information

Hi I'm new to dsl I have been using cable modem for along time as I lived in the country and had no access to dsl. But now I moved into a city center and a friend told me adsl was the way to go for gaming because of the lower latency then cable modem can give you. I logged into the modem which is a motorola 2210 and was interested to know if what my modem is getting is good can someone tell me what all this means? Also for my speed when downloading I never get more then 600-614 kB/s am I getting my promised bandwidth of 6.0 Mpbs?

Line State Up
Modulation DMT
Data Path Fast

Max Allowed Speed (kbps) 6016 Down 768 Up
To Modem To Internet
SN Margin (dB) 17.0 20.0
Line Attenuation (dB) 14.0 6.0
Loss of signal 0 0
Loss of frame 0 0
CRC Errors 0 1

NormanS
I gave her time to steal my mind away
MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
TP-Link TD-8616
Asus RT-AC66U B1
Netgear FR114P

NormanS

MVM

said by Archangel83:

Hi I'm new to dsl I have been using cable modem for along time as I lived in the country and had no access to dsl. But now I moved into a city center and a friend told me adsl was the way to go for gaming because of the lower latency then cable modem can give you. I logged into the modem which is a motorola 2210 and was interested to know if what my modem is getting is good can someone tell me what all this means?

• Modulation = DMT

Odd. Not "g.DMT"? ADSL should be reporting, "g.DMT".

• Data Path = Fast ...

This is good for low latency. Should see ~10ms on your first IP hop.

• Max Allowed Speed = 6016/768 ...

This is good. It means your connection speed is at the AT&T tier limit.

• SN Margin (dB) = 17.0/20.0 ...
• Line Attenuation (dB) = 14.0/6.0