spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Animal04
join:2012-11-01
Cavan, ON

Animal04

Newbie to WISP advice

I'm new to Canada (from the UK) and thought broadband was available anywhere etc. Yep - I was wrong !

I've bought and moved to a house that is classed as rural and has no cable / DSL but has got WISP. Reading through the forums I asked the WISP company (Wisponline.ca) a few questions and got back the following. None of this means a lot to me so any help and advice would be apprecietd.

My son wants to get back onto playing Call of Duty and online gaming and I want to download movies and stream video hopefully !

----------

We use Ubquiti as our equipment provider and we use a variety of
frequencies, both 2.4 & 5.8 Ghz depending on the location and situation.

we have several towers in that postal code, and we would need your exact address to give you an idea of distance. Most likely you are within a few KM or less from the tower.

Our backhaul equipment also varies. Unfortunately the specifics
are confidential, but suffice to say we are capable of transferring more than enough bandwidth to each of our towers as needed.

the number of customers on a tower vary, although for the most
part we try to keep the sector load below 40% of its capabilities.

Our service is backboned with a Fibre Optic connection and at the moment we do not do any traffic shaping although we are going to be implementing some basic traffic shaping in the coming months. None of this will reduce the quality of service, and you can rest assured that we don't implement anywhere near the levels of traffic shaping as any of the other providers in the
area.

Ultimately if your concern is a stable connection with a low ping, we can provide that for you at a lower price then any other provider. In addition we have no bandwidth limits, which is rare in our industry.
OHSrob
join:2011-06-08

OHSrob