Premium
join:2008-04-28
Etobicoke, ON
kudos:4
Reviews:
·TekSavvy Cable
·TekSavvy DSL

Question about Modular PSUs

Why are the failure rates higher than non-modular ones?

I'm asking out of curiosity because I'm not planning on replacing my non-modular PSU any time soon, but I'd like to know.
--
Support Bacteria -- It's the Only Culture Some People Have

n_w95482
Premium
join:2005-08-03
Ukiah, CA
What numbers in particular are you referencing? I haven't seen that before.

So far I have two modular power supplies (Seasonic M12D and SS-460FL), and a few more regular ones. Both of the modular ones have been working great, and I've been using the M12D for four years under heavy load.
--
KI6RIT

Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit
kudos:12
reply to El Quintron
Are they? I've never heard that before.

El Quintron
Resident Mouth Breather
Premium
Etobicoke, ON
Reviews:
·TekSavvy Cable
·TekSavvy DSL
said by Krisnatharok:

Are they? I've never heard that before.

Interesting.

When I bought my current PSU (2009-ish) I was told that the modular PSUs have a higher failure rate than the non-modular ones. Is this not the case?
--

El Quintron
Resident Mouth Breather
Premium
Etobicoke, ON
reply to El Quintron
To be clear, I'm asking this is true or not, so far the consensus appears that it isn't.
--

Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
Earth Orbit
reply to El Quintron
Modularity is usually a convenience/luxury option found on better-made PSUs. e.g. I haven't really seen unrated, unprotected PSUs offered with modular cables, but there are plenty of active PFC, silver/gold/platinum-rated Modular PSUs.

So the hypothesis would be that silver/gold/platinum PSUs tend to have higher failure rates than the $20 specials that lack any sort of efficiency rating or power protection.

That seems unlikely. Who told you that modular PSUs fail more?