All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Davefred99
join:2012-08-10
Moreno Valley, CA

Davefred99

[PBX] PBX in the cloud or Build your own.

Ok, I have been tinkering with a test PBX box now for a couple of months and have come to a cross road. My current test machine is based on some pretty old tech and gets the job done for now as my needs are small but I am not sure I would trust it for the long term.
So I am looking at the cost of building a new improve PBX that I can set and mostly forget for the long term. I have looked at building a setup based on the Rasberry PI but am not sure it is a truly viable solution but the price is cheap enough. MY other option is to look for or build a low cost Atom based system. This is of course based on if I decide to keep everything in house.
Now I have been looking at an alternate plan of just putting it all in the cloud and renting a virtual PBX. When I compare the associated costs it almost seems cheaper in the long run to just do it all in the cloud as the typical costs I see are form $15 to $25 a month and I think it must cost at least $10 per month just to power my old setup. It would cost at least a few hundred dollars to build a new system even if I use a refurbished Atom setup.
I guess I am just looking for others opinions pro of con . I am sure there are lots of folks on both sides so It would be nice to here some feedback.
sokhapkin
Premium Member
join:2003-05-08
North Fort Myers, FL

sokhapkin

Premium Member

I'm trying to understand what you are asking about and I can't...

ekiM5
Oh Well
join:2001-01-06
/usr/home

ekiM5 to Davefred99

to Davefred99
It would help if you described the pbx functionality you need.
Another option is use a provider which offers IVR functionality with a DID/account. Voip.ms has that option and is pay for usage.
That probably is cheaper than a rented PBX.
It is really about the feature set you need.