uniqs

Blogger
Jedi Poster
Premium Member
join:2012-10-18

Blogger

Premium Member

A 64 bit world for Windows OS?

I wasn't sure if this was the most appropriate forum. If it isn't please move to appropriate forum.

I’m just a very average technically a low end but heavy computer and Internet user. I’ve got lots of experience in years of continuous use but nothing sophisticated or high end in terms of general computer topics or hardware and software related knowledge .

Starting with Windows 7 the 64 OS version started to become increasingly more influential and increasingly popular v its 32 bit cousin as time as passed. Still we are tied in a lot of ways to 32 bits software including browsers on our 64 bit OS.

Question:

Will Windows 8 and IE 10 speed up the functional transition where essentially all Windows users with newer computers and Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 8 64 bit version will result in speeding up and functionally eliminate the 32 bit world. Except for rare or specific exception situations the result will be virtually everyone’s browser and their Windows OS will be 64 bit as will all most all applications and programs?

Thank you.

JohnInSJ
Premium Member
join:2003-09-22
Aptos, CA

JohnInSJ

Premium Member

said by Blogger:

Will Windows 8 and IE 10 speed up the functional transition where essentially all Windows users with newer computers and Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 8 64 bit version will result in speeding up and functionally eliminate the 32 bit world. Except for rare or specific exception situations the result will be virtually everyone’s browser and their Windows OS will be 64 bit as will all most all applications and programs?

Yes.

mozerd
Light Will Pierce The Darkness
MVM
join:2004-04-23
Nepean, ON

mozerd

MVM

+1

and get ready for the 128 bit Windows world coming soon.

JohnInSJ
Premium Member
Aptos, CA

JohnInSJ

Premium Member

said by mozerd:

+1

Native word sizes just keep getting longer - like iPhone screens
dave
Premium Member