spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

mdshs

@teksavvy.com

How does one add Wifi to an existing wired network?

Sorry might be a dumb question but figure someone would know. Right now I have a Netgear router which has Wifi built in which is fine. We are changing to the Cisco UC500 series phone system which has the router built in and runs the whole office, replacing the Netgear. I'm comparing the 520 and 540 as I can get the 520 far cheaper with the main difference being that it doesn't have Wifi built in. I like having the UC be the router and what not so that QoS is easier letting it reserve bandwidth for SIP calls etc. I'm just wondering though how I'd add Wifi to this?

I'm not a networking expert, but I know that I could of course connect the existing Netgear to the UC500 system which would get an IP by DHCP and be a wifi network. Assuming that my UC520 has an IP of 10.0.0.1 and all my wired devices are 10.0.0.2, 10.0.0.3 etc up to 10.0.0.50, would I just disable DHCP under LAN on the Netgear, give the Netgear an IP address of something like 10.0.0.100 or whatever I want, and that's it? What about the Internet tab, do I need to put anything in there?

If the above is correct, would that impact QoS etc at all with the wired router? Like I like how you can have PCs, printers etc plugged into one of the 8 ethernet ports on the UC520 and have it manage QoS and prioritize IP calls, but would it still do the same if I had wireless plugged in? Or is there a better way to do this, such as buying a device that isn't a router but that is just a wireless device? Not sure the terminology of what I'd need, like if the Netgear can be used or if there's a better device that's less complicated to purchase that does Wifi. Thanks!!!

gweidenh

join:2002-05-18
Houston, TX
kudos:3

1 recommendation

I think you got it.

Just give the Netgear a static IP address. Make sure to turn off DHCP server on the Netgear, and you should be good to go.