Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

nokken

join:2001-02-07
Memphis, TN

[Beginner] Which Mac is for me?

Hi,

I'm an IT Professional by day and a PC Gamer by night.
I've built and customized my own gaming PCs for years.

I have the itch to try a Mac for my next machine and I'm not sure how to scratch it. Can someone help?

Things I must have:

• Ability to add 3rd Party RAM. I'm not paying outrageous prices for RAM from Apple.

• Ability to Boot Camp into Windows

• Desktop graphics card options, not a neutered mobile chip.

Things I don't know:

• Can I use regular PCIe graphic cards or do I have to buy special "Mac" versions?

• Can I use my PC keyboards/mice?

• Do I void any sort of warranty (AppleCare?) by opening my machine to swap out a HDD or memory?

• Boot Camp/Windows: How do drivers work? Are these provided by Apple?

• Can you access the same iTunes media library from within OS X and Boot Camp Windows?

• Edit: I should add that I think I'd have to go with a Mac Pro for desktop graphic card options. Is that really the only desktop Mac available that has the ability to use high-end graphics cards?

Thanks!!
    --
    "The key to flying is falling and not hitting the ground."

Thinkdiff
Premium,MVM
join:2001-08-07
Bronx, NY
kudos:11

1 edit

said by nokken:

•Ability to add 3rd Party RAM. I'm not paying outrageous prices for RAM from Apple.

Avoid the Retina MacBook Pros, the Macbook Air, and new 21.5" iMacs. All other models (and older versions of 21.5" iMac) support user RAM.

said by nokken:

•Desktop graphics card options, not a neutered mobile chip.

You're pretty much narrowing your options with this demand. Only the Mac Pro (very expensive and hasn't been updated in forever) supports desktop-grade graphics cards

said by nokken:

•Can I use regular PCIe graphic cards or do I have to buy special "Mac" versions?