lit up
Premium
join:2001-02-06
Sterling Heights, MI
kudos:2
Reviews:
·Comcast

Question.

I am wanting to replace my trusty WNDR3700v1 router because the 2.4 ghz band is getting flaky, it getting old so I am not too upset.
In my research, I am considering the R6300 ac1750 or the WNDR4500. I want to stick with Netgear. My question is this..in reading the user manuals on them, they don't like you to change the SSID name or security key from it's default that it is shipped with. Is that true and would using my existing ones create any issues?
It would be a pain to have to reconfigure all the wireless devices.

SHY
0x27
Premium
join:2010-06-21
Cote Saint-Luc, QC
I've been using the WNDR4500 for six months now, and I changed both the SSID and put in my own key with no problems. Don't know where you heard that from.

jaynick
lit up
Premium
Sterling Heights, MI
Reviews:
·Comcast

1 edit
It's in bold print in the user manual. Name (SSID). The SSID is also known as the wireless network name. Enter a 32-character (maximum) name in this field. This field is case-sensitive. The default SSID is randomly generated, and NETGEAR strongly recommends that you do not change this.

mozerd
Light Will Pierce The Darkness
Premium,MVM
join:2004-04-23
Nepean, ON
reply to jaynick
No problems changing the SSID or anything else as long as you do understand the implications. I never go with the default SSID.

Their manuals, unfortunately, are not accurate -- so i would not take everything they state in the manuals as gospel.

jaynick
lit up
Premium
Sterling Heights, MI
Thanks guys. It did sound odd to me. Now it's decision time, the R6300 or the WNDR4500? Any input there? recommendations etc.?

mozerd
Premium,MVM
Nepean, ON

1 recommendation

said by jaynick:

Thanks guys. It did sound odd to me. Now it's decision time, the R6300 or the WNDR4500? Any input there? recommendations etc.?