uniqs
share rss forum feed

Bob Anderson

join:2001-05-05
Ottawa, ON
kudos:1

Grading school work

»www.montrealgazette.com/technolo···ory.html

This link is about a university student who was denied an A- and given a B+ because the quota for A's was reached at 25% of the marks for the class. It also goes on to talk about assigning grades according to the Bell Curve method.

Both of these methods are crap. I was a teaching assistant and lecturer for two of my seven years of university. I have marked hundreds of lengthy essays back when students actually hand wrote essays.

The way to assign a grade for an essay is as follows:

Less than C-

Failure to note any of the important points raised in the lecture or assigned reading

C- to C+

Most important points noted, the actual grade assigned on the logic and relationship between the important points as the student understands it

B- to B+

An explanation why all the important points are important

A- to A

An explanation why all the important points could be related to another thinker's writing

A+

Only for students who know more about the subject than I do.

I only gave one A+ for over 600 students in a two year period.

I never considered attendance or participation when assigning grades. I graded only on written assignments. This is for university students, grade schooler grades must include marks for participation.

-Bob

dragonfly5

join:2012-09-04
Heh. This is interesting, because the associate dean he took the complaint to was my senior-year Latin professor. I know her pretty well.

Concordia is a maze of bureaucracy and even well-intentioned employees can find their efforts lost in the cracks, to say nothing of students.

ArthurS
Watch Those Blinking Lights
Premium
join:2000-10-28
Hamilton, ON
reply to Bob Anderson