 Seanster join:2005-06-26 Beverly Hills, CA | reply to rebus9
Re: DynDNS Hacked? I too can confirm receiving spam on an address only used by dyndns. They have definitely been hacked or someone sniffed their packets. Probably much more likely they were hacked. I'm sure they would know this by now and they should have sent out an email warning people at the very least. Very unprofessional.
I hope I used a unique password. I would run my own dyndns but I still have some stupid routers that won't let you use custom dyn services. |
|
 NormanSPremium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA kudos:9 Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| said by Seanster:I would run my own dyndns but I still have some stupid routers that won't let you use custom dyn services. I still have one of their free third level domains. But my new ISP gives me a free static IP address, and they provide DNS service for my domain for less than DynDNS for the same service. -- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
 | I just got the most elaborate phishing email, claiming my dyndns account was expiring, emailed to the (stolen, unique) email address I actually used to register there.
It is clearly a phishing email, given that the URLs appear to go to dyn dot com, but actually go to dynect dot net.
It's a better constructed email than most, and almost fooled me. Had I not already seen spam to the same unique email address, I would have clicked through. |
|
 NormanSPremium,MVM join:2001-02-14 San Jose, CA kudos:9 Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
| Interesting. "Dynect dot net" appears to be registered to:
Dynamic Network Services, Inc.
150 Dow St
Manchester, NH 03101
US
While "dyn dot com" is registered to ... ... ... ...
Dynamic Network Services, Inc.
150 Dow St
Manchester, NH 03101
US
Same address as on the dyndns.com web page.
-- Norman ~Oh Lord, why have you come ~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum |
|
 SnowymIRC unix.ro UnderNetPremium join:2003-04-05 Kailua, HI kudos:6 Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless
1 edit | reply to krrrrrrr said by krrrrrrr :It is clearly a phishing email, given that the URLs appear to go to dyn dot com, but actually go to dynect dot net. Why are you obfuscating the web addresses dyn.com & dynect.net?
edit to add: registered members can get the definitive answer to what is a suspected phish not to mention the hurt that phishers have come to expect when one of their phish get posted to the quiet but often fatal DSLR Phishtracker located at dslreports dot com/phishtrack or more commonly referred to as »/phishtrack  |
|
|
|
 rebus9 join:2002-03-26 Tampa Bay Reviews:
·Verizon FiOS
·Bright House
| reply to Seanster After a short break, spam to the DynDNS address is rolling in again.
I think it's safe to say the address is making its rounds through the lowlife spam-scum circles and will get spam, forever more. Time to kill the dyndns@ address and replace it with something else unique (unique to my DynDNS account).
I have aliases created back in the 1990's which have not been used for more than 10 years. Some date all the way back to 1996 and have not been used since 1997-- a full 15 years.
But to this very day, those addresses still get spammed regularly. Once a spammer gets his filthy hands on it, he will sell and re-sell, and those he sold it to will sell and re-sell it, and forever into the future it will always be in the hands of spammers.
I keep those aliases alive solely for use as honeypots. |
|